Reader reviews and comments on 3001, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

3001

The Final Odyssey

by Arthur C. Clarke

3001 by Arthur C. Clarke X
3001 by Arthur C. Clarke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 1997, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 1998, 274 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for 3001
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

rob

well i thought it was good book to read. i only read 2061 and 3001 but i saw the movies 2001 and 2010. thats it from me.
José F. Barral

The publication of Arthur C. Clarke's 3001: The Final Odyssey marks not only the 1997 "birthday" of HAL the computer (as given in the novel 2001, though the film had it five years earlier). It is also Clarke's eightieth year and his sixtieth as a publishing science fiction author. Only one or two other living English science fiction writers--perhaps J.G. Ballard and Brian W. Aldiss--have had a comparable impact on the field, or could lay as solid a claim to the mantle left by H.G. Wells.

3001" echoes not only the earlier novels in the series -- "2001" (1968), "2010" (1982), and "2061" (1987)--but many other Clarke tales as well. When revived astronaut Frank Poole is given a "grand tour" of the world of "3001," it calls to mind a similar travelogue in "Imperial Earth" (1975)
Michael Hickerson

File under: beating a dead horse.

Arthur C. Clarke returns to the saga he created in 2001 and continued in 2010 and 2063 with this entry in the series, that is a disappointment in so many ways. Frank Poole is revived in the year 3001 (yes, that Frank Poole who apparently died in the 2001) and has some wacky adventures from there, involving the monoliths.

Clarke fails because he tries to explain the mystery behind the monoliths and destroys the awesome power that was them.

Disappointing.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.