Reader reviews and comments on The Law of Similars, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Law of Similars

by Chris Bohjalian

The Law of Similars by Chris Bohjalian
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 1999, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2000, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Law of Similars
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cindylou

Try This....
You wish the characters in this novel lived next door. They are open and easy to know.
You'll experience their highs and lows -- and wonder if you'd have made the same decisions.
The love story gets a bit too erotic for a bit, but over all the book is a wonderfully unique story.
Anonymous

Linda
I was never convinced that this story was being told from the point of view of a fourteen year old girl. Her vocabulary was so preppy that it made it even more ridiculous to try and believe she was a child of hippy parents. How many fourteen year olds do things "on a lark" or see themselves as "aspiring tarts". The most difficult part to swallow was that this ex-hippy Sybil Danforth, a woman who is devoted to a natural, alternative, New Age sort of life, stocks her pantry with diet soft drinks, packaged cereals and eats hamburger! Chris Bohjalian really didn't do his homework here. He also neglected to really develop the characters. They never came to life for me. This could have been a great book. The moral dilemma had the potential to be riveting. If only it had been done by a better writer.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.