Reader reviews and comments on The Crossing Places, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Crossing Places

A Ruth Galloway Mystery

by Elly Griffiths

The Crossing Places
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2010, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2010, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for The Crossing Places
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Alan K. (Westport, MA) (12/03/09)

The Crossing Places
I agree with Betty B. although a 5, in my mind reserved for the best of the best, seems too high a rating. The plot is enjoyable, the setting great but it is the character of Ruth Galloway that captures my primary interest. I would definitely be interested in reading further books in this series just to see what Ruth is up to.
Janalee G. (West Palm Beach, FL) (12/01/09)

The Crossing Places
Strangely enough, I had ordered this book from the UK before it came up on the review list--a very good read! The mystery itself isn't difficult to sort out--there are a limited number of possible suspects. The beauty of the book comes from the depiction of the landscape, the archaeology, and the characters who react to both. I especially enjoyed the main character--and her changes in respect to her life and the people around her.
Anne B. (Fredonia, WI) (11/13/09)

Chills and Thrills
I love archeology which drew me to this book in the first place. And it didn't disappoint, but then, there is the mystery, and the fact that the archeologist is the key in helping solving the mystery pulls me in even further. The discovery of bones, the sudden disappearance of a child and the discovery of a murdered pet keeps me guessing and wanting more.
Jane D. (Boulder, CO) (11/12/09)

The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths
Ruth Galloway is a delightful, human, and quirky character. This is a fun and exciting mystery, while also offering interesting tidbits of archeology, ancient cultures, and Norse mythology. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
Tricia L. (Auburn, WA) (11/10/09)

Irresistible setting and premise; somewhat predictable
I really love the protagonist for this series. That alone will keep me reading the series, but I would love for the author to be braver in how she executes the high-pitched dramatic moments. I skipped some pages. But if you love British mysteries, this series looks to be promising.
Susan (Maple Grove, MN) (11/09/09)

“not quite earth, not quite sea”
This book pairs archaeology with criminal investigation – a good pairing since both disciplines use clues to solve mysteries. The characters are pretty well developed and interesting. You get a good feel for the locale, and learn about an area that is "not quite earth, not quite sea" which was sacred to Iron Age dwellers. I was intrigued enough with the locale and characters to think I would read the next in the series.
Susan H. (Loudon, TN) (11/07/09)

The Crossing places
Ruth Galloway, the main character in this mystery, is a welcome addition to a growing list of female sleuths. Ruth is a person to whom most people can relate; a bit overweight, with a wry sense of humor and with a realistic view of life. The author blends ancient archaeology nicely with contemporary events and keeps the reader interested. During the course of the story, the author provides a number of "red herrings" and the identity of the murderer was in doubt until the end. I look forward to reading more Ruth Galloway mysteries in the near future.
Betty B. (Irving, TX) (11/06/09)

A New Mystery Series
I am a frequent reader of British mysteries and am always on the lookout for a series new to me. I'm so glad to be introduced to Elly Griffiths and The Crossing Places. I was hooked 20 pages in by the main characters... and the locale. And now I am looking forward to seeing the relationships develop and to learn more about the history of this section of England. I would have liked to have had a second map locating Norfolk and the Saltmarsh on a map of England. But all in all a very good read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Spinster
by Kate Bolick

A bold, original, moving book that will inspire fanatical devotion and ignite debate.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.