MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reader reviews and comments on Wedlock, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wedlock

The True Story of the Disastrous Marriage and Remarkable Divorce of Mary Eleanor Bowes, Countess of Strathmore

by Wendy Moore

Wedlock by Wendy Moore X
Wedlock by Wendy Moore
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2009, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2010, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Marnie Colton
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Wedlock
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

San Antonio Reader

Wedlock
This true story of a mid-18th century English heiress duped into a marriage with an abusive, masochistic, fortune-hunting monster is jaw-droppingly fascinating. The period details are instructive and the laws regarding women's rights are enlightening, especially in this day of concern over rights for women in the Middle East. The book is impressively researched and foot-noted, and includes, on a large scale, engrossing information concerning the British society of the day, while examining, on a more intimate scale, the minutia of the daily life of one citizen. It is interesting to note what was transpiring across the sea even as England and the colonies engaged in war. Mary Eleanor Bowes is an ancestor of Queen Elizabeth II, so there is a connection between this woman's history and the history of modern England as well. The biography of Lady Strathmore and her two marriages contains every element to titillate and engage the reader -- from juicy marital "confessions" of wrong-doing to international kidnapping and fugitive chases. Wedlock reads like the non-fiction it is, but the style, I feel, merely enhances the veracity of the subject. I give this book five out of five stars.
Loriann

Highly Overrated
The summary on the back of the book was much better, more exciting and more titillating than the actual book. It wasn't well written, I found myself counting how many times the author used the word "lately" in one chapter (nineteen). It had great potential but it failed miserably. Very disappointing............
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...
  • Book Jacket: The End of the Ocean
    The End of the Ocean
    by Maja Lunde
    In The History of Bees, her debut novel for adults, internationally bestselling Norwegian writer ...
  • Book Jacket: Heart of Junk
    Heart of Junk
    by Luke Geddes
    In Luke Geddes' debut novel, The Heart of America is the largest year-round antique mall in Kansas, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Sounds Like Titanic

"The definition of an overdeliver." —Vox

"A tricky, unnerving, consistently fascinating memoir."
Kirkus, starred review

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.