Reader reviews and comments on The Lost City of Z, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lost City of Z

A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon

by David Grann

The Lost City of Z by David Grann
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2009, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2010, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Lost City of Z
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

warren

Lost City of Z Disappoints
I really wanted to like this book and, after the first few chapters, was really getting into it. The book turned out to be primarily about the wanderings of Col. Fawcett in the Amazon, and very little about the lost city. There are a few debates about whether or not the Amazon can support large populations, but that's about it. At the end the author invests a few pages in what "could" have been the lost city, and then....that's it. Book over. I didn't even get much of a sense that Fawcett really conceived the idea of a lost city and then developed an "obsession" to find it.

I bought the book after listening to Mr. Grann do a talk show. I feel I must have bought the wrong book.

There were no maps, except for inside the covers. There was a lack of detail in many areas, such as, if the expedition is well into Amazonia, and are totally spent and half-dead from starvation and disease, how did they get out in order that they undertake the next expedition? Just way too many loose ends for me. Sadly, this is a case where the movie should have no trouble being better than the book.

There is one silver lining I found in this book. After reading the exceptional descriptions of all the things that can kill you in the Amazon basin, I will NEVER visit a place that has an indigenous creature like the candiru.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.