Reader reviews and comments on An Incomplete Revenge, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

An Incomplete Revenge

A Maisie Dobbs Novel

by Jacqueline Winspear

An Incomplete Revenge
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kathy Pierson

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for An Incomplete Revenge
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda (03/03/08)

An Incomplete Revenge
The English countryside is anything but tranquil in Jacqueline Windspear's latest novel. Maisie Dobbs is asked to look into the rash of thefts and suspicious fires plaguing the village of Heronsdene in Kent.

During the war this village was the site of a Zeppelin raid and death of the village baker and his family. Maisie is perplexed when residents are reluctant to discuss this event. They are all to ready to shift the focus to Londoners and Gypsies in the area for the hop harvest.

Rich historical detail and beautifully descriptive language capture the time and paint a vivid picture of the English landscape. As Maisie untangles the web of deception, her own story arc continues to evolve. Maisie Dobbs is a memorable character and the series gets stronger with each new entry.
Sally (03/03/08)

Another page-turner by Jacqueline Winspear
Will Maise Dobbs ever escape the claws of her memories of "The Great War" and find true love? It appears that she's gaining ground in this page turner. Jacqueline Winspear imbues her fiery mystery with tales of the English countryside in the post World War I era and kept me guessing until the end.
Elizabeth (03/03/08)

A
This was a real treat for the Maisie Dobbs fan! As with Jacqueline Winspear's past Maisie books, the story was clever and the period details convincing. The storyline kept me guessing for a good portion of the book and was chilling as it took shape. It has several themes that would be interesting for bookclubs to discuss. I'd definitely recommend this book.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Beyond the Book:
  The Roma People in Britain

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.