Reader reviews and comments on Kabul Beauty School, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Kabul Beauty School

An American Woman Goes Behind the Veil

by Deborah Rodriguez, Kristin Ohlson

Kabul Beauty School by Deborah Rodriguez, Kristin Ohlson X
Kabul Beauty School by Deborah Rodriguez, Kristin Ohlson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 275 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2007, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Kabul Beauty School
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer
Louise Jolly

Kabul Beauty School
Deborah Rodriguez was a hairdresser from Michigan with a degree in cosmetology who decided to move to Afghanistan and teach the women of Kabul how to be beauticians. As she was working out the details of how her hairdressing school would be run, she heard of Mary MacMakin who had already dedicated herself to the women of Afghanistan and was in the process of working on the Kabul Beauty School. Debbie quickly joined forces with Mary and became the first teacher of the first class in 2003.

During her years in Kabul she befriended a lot of women from her classes who themselves went on to teach as well. Her friendships with these women meant a lot as the majority were victims of terrible beatings and rapes by their husbands and were frightened and lacking in self-confidence. By educating them Debbie had empowered these women and given them the knowledge and courage to begin working and they often made more money than their spouses.

Kabul Beauty School was a book I couldn’t put down and it will provide you with an immensely pleasurable read and a longing to have Debbie as your friend.
Tanya Santy

Inspiration
Deborah Rodriguez's book "Kabul Beauty School" was about a her life story as an adult with an abusive husband, and leaving her life behind to help out underprivileged women in Afghanistan. In Afghanistan she saw women that were beaten and abused physically and emotionally. These things were hard for her to see and she tried her hardest to do every thing she could to help them through it.
This book was a wonderful book and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a book with day by day/journal type writing. It had suspense and was the type of book that you can't eat, can't sleep, can't put down until its done. I would be unable to comprehend why anyone would disagree.
This book was very inspirational to many young women for not only because of what Deborah Rodriguez did by giving up her life in America to go to a completely different country where women were hated just to help out women in need, but because of the women there. These women overcame so many obstacles. It made me think of all the things that I complain about and put them into prospective of how bad they really are compared to the hardships these girls have suffered.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.