Reader reviews and comments on Peony in Love, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Peony in Love

A Novel

by Lisa See

Peony in Love
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2007, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 4 reader reviews for Peony in Love
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Elizabeth (07/13/10)

Not as good as Snowflower and the Secret Fan...STRANGE
This book was very strange...how the young girl starves herself to death because she doesn't marry the man she loves.

Then all the strange things start to happen after death....it was bizarre how she could see people and go into their lives and make things happen.

It was too sci-fi for me...not sure it really was science fiction, but that is what it seemed to me.

I read the entire book, but not with the same "gusto" as I read Snowflower and the Secret Fan.

The ending with that tablet was strange as well. Great to learn about the culture, though, and the thoughts about what happens after death.
sam (02/23/10)

peony in love
This is my second time reading this book. If I was able to I would marry it. It is just so amazing the way Lisa See writes. The pain Peony goes through trying to make Ren fall for her and know that she still loves him. Also having to watch Ze burn all her hard work in the first copy of the Peony pavilion she is so strong even in death. Lovesickness may have taken her life but she lives in her project. You could not ask more of her. In the end she got what she wanted and was shedding light on the Wu family house as she should have.
Judy (04/03/08)

Fascinating
I highly recommend Peony in Love. I love the way Lisa See can portray a long-ago Chinese culture that is firmly grounded in historical fact but brought to vivid life by a compelling story and such engaging characters. I loved this about Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and was happy to find it in Peony in Love, too. Peony in Love is a fascinating story of a time in China when women wrote and published poetry and other literature in spite of a culture that over most of its history treated women as property with no rights or autonomy.
Beth (03/20/08)

Enjoyed
This is another interesting and fun book to read from Lisa See - author of "Snow Flower and the Secret Fan," Like that book, "Peony in Love" goes into the history and culture of China while also presenting characters that are well developed and worth knowing. "Peony" offers a somewhat different perspective on the life of women in dynasty China - I don't want to spoil the novel by giving away too much information. It would be an excellent choice for any reader who has enjoyed her other books or other Chinese historical novels - i.e. those of Pearl Buck, Amy Tan and Maxine Hong Kingston.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.