Reader reviews and comments on The Wild Trees, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Wild Trees

A Story of Passion and Daring

by Richard Preston

The Wild Trees
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 5 reader reviews for The Wild Trees
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

M. D. Vaden of Oregon (07/22/09)

Should be a classic according to M. D. Vaden
Some folks have said that The Wild Trees reads a bit choppy. I felt the same at first, but have a better way to explain it. The book reads comparably to sitting around a campfire sharing a story, but in writing.

It is one of few books that I hope to see become a classic.

My full review was recently updated, and has a couple of curve balls - even for folks who have read The WIld Trees. Google mdvaden The Wild Trees book review.

For an adventure story, it is richly filled with information about forests and redwoods.
M. D. Vaden of Oregon (11/26/08)

Very good Tree book with
Wish there was a four and a half rating. I used to give this book a 5, until I found the tree Preston described and realized that he stretched the truth and wrote for shock and awe effect.

Regarding verifiable tree and forest facts, the book is quite accurate and interesting.

Either way, if a reader is not picky and really enjoys trees and a good story, this should be a fine read, and educational too.

Odds are that Preston stretched some truth to it's limits in an attempt to keep some tree locations secret. Yes - it would be easier just to say nothing and follow the non-fiction rule to the letter.

The main challenge for me, in realizing that some comments about tree locations didn't match up to what I witnessed, was it introduced an element of doubt about other parts of the book. If Preston stretched the truth in one section, did he do it in another? But I'll give him the benefit of the doubt for now.

It seems that there is one or two characters among many in the book with whom almost any reader can identify.
M. D. Vaden of Oregon (07/22/08)

The Wild Trees: Informative & Superlative Storytelling
The Wild Trees was interesting to me because I work with trees, have been in the redwoods, and even vacationed where one of the main character's wives was born.

The best part of the book for me, was the forest information, most of which can be verified as factual.

The only downside to the book for me, was the lack of any photographs.

Although the book is loaded with information, I discovered that Preston applied superlative descriptions to many aspects of the book.

The book is supposed to be non-fiction, but I believe that something Preston wrote about the book is fictional; an aspect dealing with the location of one of the groves.

I've been there personally, and that's how I know that for a fact:
http://www.mdvaden.com/grove_of_titans.shtml

Even if you don't enjoy reading so much about some of the people in the book, I'd recommend it for the forest and tree information if nothing else.

Even though seeing the trees in person took the wind out of the sails of Preston's writing for me, I know I will read the book again.
M. D. Vaden of Oregon (07/05/08)

The Wild Trees, Entertaining, Informative
As one who explores in forests, and works with trees, I found the book very informative.

As for being non-fiction - it's at least 99% non-fiction. Although I do challenge Preston's claim about one grove discovery on page 82 of the book, based on my own visit to the grove.

My only real disappointment with the book was lack of photos - hey, it's a redwood book !! So I assembled a bunch of photos online of specific groves mentioned in The Wild Trees. Same page that the challenge is mentioned on.

I can say the book inspired me to go find the trees.

The book is also very entertaining. Even my 90 year old mother enjoyed it and finished reading it in about 4 days.

Aside from what I believe are a couple of discrepancies, I'd recommend the book to anyone - and have read it at least twice myself.
Ted (10/07/07)

Readable Science
An exciting read which also presents a great amount of botanical and scientific information in a very palatable manner. We read it before we went to northern California and appreciated the extra insight we had into the Redwood Forests.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.