Reader reviews and comments on The Tenth Circle, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Tenth Circle

A Novel

by Jodi Picoult

The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2006, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2006, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 16 reader reviews for The Tenth Circle
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Michelle (05/15/11)

Loved it.
I actually loved this book. I love most of her other works, and I fell in love with the father, Daniel. How he seemed to be this monster, trapped inside himself, but hidden away to protect his family.
shawna (03/21/11)

not up to par
I usually like her books. This one lost me halfway through. Trixie became less likeable, Laura more so and Daniel seemed to have lost and hidden his true self. I had lost interest when Trixie had run off and looked at the last chapter....very predictable and not a satisfying ending. I have only skipped to the end for about 4 books ever and am an avid reader and have read all of her other books. Didn't like this one at all!!
Barbara (01/22/11)

Didn't finish the book
I have read several other books by Jodi Picoult and was disappointed in The Tenth Circle. It just did not grip, and I didn't want to finish it so I didn't! Perhaps I'll read the last few pages!!
Kearstin (01/10/11)

Similarities
The words in Jodi Picoult's book seemed to have jumped out at me, the realizations of the disconnection between children and their parents seemed to just draw me in like a bug to a light. The sexual conflict of a young girl being raped and not knowing whether it was real or fiction, and the lash out of an angered individual ending in death would be enough to send you from page 20 through the end, I loved this book it spoke to me as an individual and if you want a page turner this is your kind of book, I highly recommend it.
Cassie (12/12/10)

The Tenth Circle
It was a great read for me. Being a 17 year old, I know what it feels like to have peer pressure to look beautiful and to have my status based on that and the boy my arm is hooked with. It was also gripping for me to see the extent that a father would go to for his little girl. Daniel reminds me of my father, and he is my favorite character in any book so far. I can't wait to read more of Jodi Picoult.
Emey (07/28/10)

Good
It was a well written book, but not as good as her others.

And you got the hidden message wrong. It's actually: nothing is easier than self deceit for what each man wishes that he also believes to be true.
Jan Brady (07/01/09)

The Tenth Circle: Jodi Picoult
This is an excellent book! It shows a very young a naive girl named Trixie who is very young and naive about dating. She does everything she can to make her ex-boyfriend stay with her. This is a great book for people who have ever been through a relationship that was very depressing for them, and read this book. It is also a very graphic book. It is a great book, I hope you enjoy it. Another book of hers is My Sister's Keeper. BEST BOOK!!!!!!! all of her books have a twist ending, like nothing you'd ever think about! AMAZING!!!!
Beth (01/25/09)

10th circle....ending disappointing
The storyline is really good....but the ending of this book was way too predictable...and disappointing. Instead of the loose ends of the book coming together gradually....the book abruptly ends. I've found that most of her books end this way. It's almost as if she was writing the book, and one day thought she didn't want to write anymore just finished it all up on one page. Probably won't read anymore of her books.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko
    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy blue...
  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -