Reader reviews and comments on The Tenth Circle, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Tenth Circle

A Novel

by Jodi Picoult

The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2006, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2006, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 16 reader reviews for The Tenth Circle
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Michelle (05/15/11)

Loved it.
I actually loved this book. I love most of her other works, and I fell in love with the father, Daniel. How he seemed to be this monster, trapped inside himself, but hidden away to protect his family.
shawna (03/21/11)

not up to par
I usually like her books. This one lost me halfway through. Trixie became less likeable, Laura more so and Daniel seemed to have lost and hidden his true self. I had lost interest when Trixie had run off and looked at the last chapter....very predictable and not a satisfying ending. I have only skipped to the end for about 4 books ever and am an avid reader and have read all of her other books. Didn't like this one at all!!
Barbara (01/22/11)

Didn't finish the book
I have read several other books by Jodi Picoult and was disappointed in The Tenth Circle. It just did not grip, and I didn't want to finish it so I didn't! Perhaps I'll read the last few pages!!
Kearstin (01/10/11)

Similarities
The words in Jodi Picoult's book seemed to have jumped out at me, the realizations of the disconnection between children and their parents seemed to just draw me in like a bug to a light. The sexual conflict of a young girl being raped and not knowing whether it was real or fiction, and the lash out of an angered individual ending in death would be enough to send you from page 20 through the end, I loved this book it spoke to me as an individual and if you want a page turner this is your kind of book, I highly recommend it.
Cassie (12/12/10)

The Tenth Circle
It was a great read for me. Being a 17 year old, I know what it feels like to have peer pressure to look beautiful and to have my status based on that and the boy my arm is hooked with. It was also gripping for me to see the extent that a father would go to for his little girl. Daniel reminds me of my father, and he is my favorite character in any book so far. I can't wait to read more of Jodi Picoult.
Emey (07/28/10)

Good
It was a well written book, but not as good as her others.

And you got the hidden message wrong. It's actually: nothing is easier than self deceit for what each man wishes that he also believes to be true.
Jan Brady (07/01/09)

The Tenth Circle: Jodi Picoult
This is an excellent book! It shows a very young a naive girl named Trixie who is very young and naive about dating. She does everything she can to make her ex-boyfriend stay with her. This is a great book for people who have ever been through a relationship that was very depressing for them, and read this book. It is also a very graphic book. It is a great book, I hope you enjoy it. Another book of hers is My Sister's Keeper. BEST BOOK!!!!!!! all of her books have a twist ending, like nothing you'd ever think about! AMAZING!!!!
Beth (01/25/09)

10th circle....ending disappointing
The storyline is really good....but the ending of this book was way too predictable...and disappointing. Instead of the loose ends of the book coming together gradually....the book abruptly ends. I've found that most of her books end this way. It's almost as if she was writing the book, and one day thought she didn't want to write anymore just finished it all up on one page. Probably won't read anymore of her books.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Music of the Ghosts
    Music of the Ghosts
    by Vaddey Ratner
    Music of the Ghosts is about healing and forgiveness, but it is also about identity and the revival ...
  • Book Jacket: Castle of Water
    Castle of Water
    by Dane Huckelbridge
    When a whopping 24 out of 27 readers give a book 4 or 5 stars, you know you have a winner on your ...
  • Book Jacket: Havana
    Havana
    by Mark Kurlansky
    History with flavor...culture with spice...language with gusto...it would be hard to find a better ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    No One Is Coming to Save Us
    by Stephanie Powell Watts

    One of Entertainment Weekly, Nylon and Elle's most anticipated books of 2017.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Stars Are Fire
    by Anita Shreve

    An exquisitely suspenseful novel about an extraordinary young woman tested by a catastrophic event.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y S M B, I'll S Y

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -