Reader reviews and comments on Lucky Strike, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lucky Strike

by Nancy Zafris

Lucky Strike by Nancy Zafris X
Lucky Strike by Nancy Zafris
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for Lucky Strike
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Deborah Kennedy

The best kind of book
It is not often that one finds a book so subtle, compelling and smart as Lucky Strike and its story line is as touching as it is ironic. This book will make you think about the destructive power of the atomic bomb while also making you feel, along with its quirky and all-too-human cast of characters, the even more firey force of hope and love. Lucky Strike readers will feel transported to another time and place where women named Miss Dazzle serve booze all day to card playing old ladies, and, best of all, they'll laugh all the way through.
Giacomo

Lucky Strike Strikes the Heart
A quick look at Zafris' last two books -- Metal Shredders and Lucky Strike -- might cause you to think she is a metallurgist. Instead, she is a first class writer whose characters are lonely and faded but cheerfully hopeful of finding the jackpot or the "lucky strike" in very unusual ways that seem perfectly normal under Zafris' gentle hand. She is tolerant and nonjudgmental about her strange characters and the life choices they make. The Utah wilderness and radioactivity loom dangerously in the background of this story of bad choices, cautionary friendships, and eventually bravery and compassion.
M. Sims

Lucky Strike: A Rare Find
The novel Lucky Strike by Nancy Zafris is gentle, funny, sometimes strange and always thought-provoking. The 50's Utah desert setting is full of both magic and danger.

A Mormon uranium prospector (Harry), a bristly widow from Ohio (Jean), her two kids (Beth and Charlie) and their new friend (Jo) meet in the Utah desert where they are searching for uranium. Each hopes to stake a claim and make it rich.

Charlie's illness and pluck, Jo's abusive husband, Beth's little-girl perceptions, Harry's fuzzy-headed romanticsim and Jean's conflicted desire make this book rich with feeling.

An undercurrent of irony runs through Lucky Strike as well. We know the dangers of uranium; these characters do not. The tension this produces is unsettling and riveting.
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.