Reader reviews and comments on The World Is Flat, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The World Is Flat

A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century

by Thomas Friedman

The World Is Flat by Thomas Friedman X
The World Is Flat by Thomas Friedman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 640 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The World Is Flat
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tapsearch Com Editor

Friedman's Flat World is a mirage and history will confirm this
Thomas Friedman is an evangelist for Free Traders and Globalization. You do not need any conspiracy theories to know this thing called Free Trade is not trade at all and Globlization has been driven by elite groupings outside of any real democratic process.
It is obvious workers have no voice in the process that is leading to a new "ism" of Globalism where raw Capitalism is practiced even in Communist China.

Thomas Friedman also confuses cause and effect in many of his so called flatteners which supposedly were periods in history that paved the way for Globalization. The Y2k crisis is a prime example. The Y2k crisis was caused by Free Trade and Globalization as more than million workers lost their jobs in the computer industry forcing computer to operate on automatic for years with out any decent housekeeping.

Friedman never gets into things like the Lend Lease Act which was actually real Free Trade and the Marshall Plan that restored local value added economies in Europe and Asia.

Friedman leaves out some other very important periods in history and the year 1956 is one of them.

The Suez Canal was closed down signaling how important the control of the Middle East is. Also, in 1956, the U.S. Federal Government itself sponsored the moving of factories outside the USA . It was supposed to be a temporary program but it never ended. It first evolved into the Maquiladora factories using impoverished workers in Mexico and then it evolved into what is called Free Trade today. It was never evolved in a natural economic flow but it was a forced march steered by elite groupings in government, media, colleges, trans national corporations and international entities like the World Bank . ( All should read The Confessions of an Economic Hit Man by John Perkins for some real flatteners of our times.

You can explore the lost worlds in the Flat World of Thomas Friedman at http://tapsearch.com/flatworld and related articles at http://ezinearticles.com/?expert+Ray_Tapajna
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.