Reader reviews and comments on The Forgotten Man, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Forgotten Man

by Robert Crais

The Forgotten Man by Robert Crais X
The Forgotten Man by Robert Crais
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2005, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Forgotten Man
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Laramie

My credentials as a reviewer are strictly amateur level. I enjoy detective genre books from several authors, Hammett, Chandler, John D. McDonald, Robert B. Parker and Sue Grafton. After reading each of this authors books at least twice, I consider Robert Crais' work on a par in quality with his predecessors even though he does not have their body of work yet. I rated it a '3' based on comparison to Crais' other work not to any or all other works of fiction. The Forgotten Man held great promise and I eagerly anticipated it's arrival but I felt it did not deliver in the same manner as Mr. Crais other novels(Cole or other). The idea behind the storyline was very good and original. It was told well throughout although Crais' ending did not surprise, delight or deliver on the build up of the rest of thestory. I liked it just fine thank you but it was not in the category of The Monkey's Raincoat, The Last Detective, or my personal favorite, L.A. Requiem. Still worth the read with one final caveat which has nothing to do with Mr. Crais: The pages were printed on paper so thin I could read the next page without turning to it. That was most unexpected and distracting. I love the work of Crais and his creations Cole and Pike. They've just had better adventures together.
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.