Reader reviews and comments on Allah's Torch, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Allah's Torch

A Report from Behind the Scenes in Asia's War on Terror

by Tracy Dahlby

Allah's Torch by Tracy Dahlby X
Allah's Torch by Tracy Dahlby
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2005, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2005, 327 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Allah's Torch
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Samuli

A layman's journey into... well, Indonesia
Allah's Torch makes for a pleasant, leisurely reading but is seriously undermined by the numerous, glaring factual errors (many of which concern Dahlby's interpretation of the history of Banda islands, for example: Benteng Revenge was not built by the Dutch, but rather the British; Run was never the most nutmeg-rich of the islands, quite on the contrary). Furthermore, the author insists on using a variety of terms in Indonesian language -and is lucky to get it right a few times.

More worryingly, though, the dialogues seem to be manufactured posthumously, thus bringing the authenticity of the events under scrutiny. Why do I say that? Well, take Dahlby's conversations with the venerable "Norman" as an example. This Javanese man talks as if he had been born and raised in New York, rather than the heartlands of Java. The same goes for all the characters, who, we are told, engage in discussions that no Indonesian ever would, as far as the stylistic nuances are concerned. Later in the book, Norman has a discussion with an alleged leader of radical Muslims again; the dialogue is nothing like an actual dialogue between 2 Indonesians. Those with understanding of the culture will know what I'm talking about.

Which brings me to my next point, which is the target-audience for this book. Obviously written with casual readers in mind, I guess some of the minor errors can be forgiven. However, the author is obviously partial to wildly exaggerating the danger of the situations he puts himself in. Contrary to the picture given, Indonesia in 2003 (or in 1999/2000, for that matter) was no Afghanistan c.2003; working as a journalist in Jakarta and Yogyakarta, with Bali thrown in for good measure, doesn't exactly equal to running the scoop from Sadr City. Describing the hostile glances thrown towards his general direction by skinny men in goatees gets a bit old towards the end.

All in all, while a good read to while away a couple of hour's flight or equivalent, don't buy it expecting a serious study of the subject matter.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.