Reader reviews and comments on Allah's Torch, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Allah's Torch

A Report from Behind the Scenes in Asia's War on Terror

by Tracy Dahlby

Allah's Torch by Tracy Dahlby
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2005, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2005, 327 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Allah's Torch
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Samuli

A layman's journey into... well, Indonesia
Allah's Torch makes for a pleasant, leisurely reading but is seriously undermined by the numerous, glaring factual errors (many of which concern Dahlby's interpretation of the history of Banda islands, for example: Benteng Revenge was not built by the Dutch, but rather the British; Run was never the most nutmeg-rich of the islands, quite on the contrary). Furthermore, the author insists on using a variety of terms in Indonesian language -and is lucky to get it right a few times.

More worryingly, though, the dialogues seem to be manufactured posthumously, thus bringing the authenticity of the events under scrutiny. Why do I say that? Well, take Dahlby's conversations with the venerable "Norman" as an example. This Javanese man talks as if he had been born and raised in New York, rather than the heartlands of Java. The same goes for all the characters, who, we are told, engage in discussions that no Indonesian ever would, as far as the stylistic nuances are concerned. Later in the book, Norman has a discussion with an alleged leader of radical Muslims again; the dialogue is nothing like an actual dialogue between 2 Indonesians. Those with understanding of the culture will know what I'm talking about.

Which brings me to my next point, which is the target-audience for this book. Obviously written with casual readers in mind, I guess some of the minor errors can be forgiven. However, the author is obviously partial to wildly exaggerating the danger of the situations he puts himself in. Contrary to the picture given, Indonesia in 2003 (or in 1999/2000, for that matter) was no Afghanistan c.2003; working as a journalist in Jakarta and Yogyakarta, with Bali thrown in for good measure, doesn't exactly equal to running the scoop from Sadr City. Describing the hostile glances thrown towards his general direction by skinny men in goatees gets a bit old towards the end.

All in all, while a good read to while away a couple of hour's flight or equivalent, don't buy it expecting a serious study of the subject matter.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.