Reader reviews and comments on The House of Tailors, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The House of Tailors

by Patricia Reilly Giff

The House of Tailors
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2004, 176 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2006, 176 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for The House of Tailors
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

............ (07/17/13)

Too rushed, and Dina is very whiny.
This book was not good at all! I read it for school, and i want to slap the author and protagonist in the face. First of all. Dina is a whiny little girl who doesn't want to sew anymore. She somehow is labeled as a french spy so she has to be sent to America. There she has to sew more. (The horror!) After awhile, i got tired of listening to Dina's incessant whining. Then she meets Johann (UGGGGGHHH) and now all she does is Johann this and Johann that. Personally, i don't see the reasons she has to whine, until the fire at the end. I was doing a unit on immigrants, and she seems to have it easy compared to most of them. I also didn't like it when Johann was introduced solely as a love interest, as soon as she meets him they are practically kissing. (uck!) The beggining and ending were rushed, and the middle seemed like filler. I think it would have worked better as a picture book
Osi (05/12/10)

A house of Tailors
It is good book and adventurous.
Addie Dean (02/09/05)

A House Of Taylors is a book about a girl named Dina who lives with Taylors, her mom and her dear sister Katherina in the early 1870's. her uncle in America sends for Katherina, but Dina is being chased by two soldiers because they think she is french, so instead Dina leaves instead of her sister. In America, Dina, at fist, thinks that she will never have to to sew again, but that is what she thought, when she got there she saw a sewing matchine and was very dissapointed, she never wanted to sew again. Later in the story, she has big adventure and finally she got used to the family and never wanted to leave, " you must go home" the uncle said " we do not have enough money"
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.