Reader reviews and comments on The Land That Never Was, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Land That Never Was

Sir Gregor MacGregor and the Most Audacious Fraud in History

by David Sinclair

The Land That Never Was
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2004, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2005, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Land That Never Was
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Graeme Foster (08/30/07)

The Innocence of the Regency Period.
'The Land That Never Was', David Sinclair's astonishing account of the career of Gregor MacGregor, possibly the greatest swindler of his day, makes one incredulous at the credulity of those of another age. MacGregor was successful in convincing thousands of otherwise educated Europeans that he was the appointed ruler of a land far away; somewhere between Nicaragua and Panama. Poyais, as he named it, was an unsullied paradise-on-earth, just waiting to be exploited. MacGregor, the self-styled Cazique of Poyais placed himself in Regency Britain to sell mythical real estate to a willing public.
How and why he was able to sustain this ruse so capably for so long is really the astonishing nature of the tale. In a world of Google Earth and instant communication, such hoodwinking is impossible. But in a sketchy world of terra incognita and tenuous communication all sorts of hanky panky was apparently possible.
The Cazique MacGregor must have had a blindingly charismatic personality as he was able to maintain a veneer of innocence, transferring blame to others, even after the exposure of the scam.
The Land That Never Was is a truly remarkable vignette of an age of possibilities which embraced even the impossible.
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.