Reader reviews and comments on Blow Fly, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blow Fly

by Patricia Cornwell

Blow Fly by Patricia Cornwell X
Blow Fly by Patricia Cornwell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2003, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2004, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for Blow Fly
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Chris Frail 43

I have read every book Patrice Cornwell has written and enjoyed them all. But I don't believe that she had written Blow Fly. The story was a build up to nothing. What did she do? Were there too many pages so she just cut out what happened to two main characters? The action in the swamp was even cut short in my opinion. Then to have a character say he " killed" another character without the author writing anything about it! I felt cheated after reading this story. If this is a sample of books to come, I’m not sure if I will read anything else from Patricia Cornwell. I know one thing, I will wait for the paperback copy from now on.
PhyllisC

I think a computer must have written this book. How many times can these characters return? How long can this book's ending be milked? How many loose ends can a once-enthralling author leave us with? I listened to the book on tape and through the reader's interpretation, it was impossible to relate to any of the characters. When you listen to this book, you realize how ridiculously stupid and simplic the dialog is and how spiteful and egotistical all of the characters are. This book is a big fat disappointment and I'm glad the expense of this book belongs to my library and not to me.
Angie

What a horrible piece of writing from Cornwell. I loved all of her other Scarpetta novels - especially the early ones because they did an incredible job of leading you through the process of solving a crime from the forensic and detective point of view...Blow Fly has very little of this. Scarpetta has turned into a truely unbelieveable character, one that I have learned to dislike. I can't believe she brought back a character that died in the last novel -- so soap opera-ish -- and of course 'super' Lucy is always right there, guns-a-blazen'.
Cornwell should stick to the stuff that made her earlier books good, the details of the crime. Except for the blood, gore, and phyco babble -- I thought I was reading a really bad Danielle Steel novel.
This is not even worth the time reading, even for die-hard Cornwall fans. Just ask someone what happens, and save yourself the agony of reading it. I hope a ghost writer was responsible for this waste of time, and Cornwell will write the next one with the fire of her first few Scarpetta novels.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.