Reader reviews and comments on Reading Lolita In Tehran, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Reading Lolita In Tehran

by Azar Nafisi

Reading Lolita In Tehran
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2003, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2003, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 2
There are currently 14 reader reviews for Reading Lolita In Tehran
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mahsa (01/03/05)

A great connecting book to my soul and my experiences. It pictures the values of Iranian people desires apart from what the regime make them to do.
A picture of the young people craving to discover more and more about lide even in the repression situation around. It is a masterpiece that made me cry
as a persian girl to remember all these ugly realities that was and are happening to people in Iran, but still morals and curiosity blossom and never die...
Garrett (11/21/04)

The book had potential and I looked forward to reading it, however, I was greatly disappointed. Her discussions of the books her classes wrote seem more like literary criticism and less an integrated part of her own story. The book jumps back and forth in time and without political knowledge of Iran the reader may be confused.
gallahawk (10/17/04)

This was a powerful book evoking strong feelings; I was actually angry with the Iranian religious regime as I read it. The author did a great job of comparing the lives of herself and her students in their own political situation with the similarities of the characters of great Western literature banned in Iran. She forces readers to comtemplate their own feelings and actions if presented with a similar political/religious environment. Her command of English is wonderful - poetic and flowing - even though she is not a native speaker. This is one I will read again.
april thomas (09/27/04)

Reading this book gave me insight in understanding in a culture vastly different from my own. By the end of the book I appreciated the many freedmans that we have in this country. To be able to move about freely and to read and discuss a book without fear is a great thing.
Bibliophiend (05/23/04)

This author's ability to analyse Western literature and explain its subtleties gives the reader new appreciation for it. When you stop to consider that the author and her book group put their lives at risk to read these works, it also makes you appreciate how unfortunate it is that the majority of Americans will ignore these books or read them grudgingly for school credit. Her stories range from the humorous to the appalling and each is told in such a way to make the reader better understand the lives of the politically repressed. One need not have a thorough knowledge of Iranian history nor the books discussed to greatly enjoy this writer's story. Perhaps it will help us to appreciate our freedoms and not take them so for granted. I have read this book three times now; once when it first was released, again for a non-fiction book group, and finally when it was chosen as our town's "One Book" and each time I have drawn new things from it...a sign of a classic in my estimation.
Catherine (04/21/04)

We read this for book club. It was like taking a literature course! She does a great job of discussing the book and tying it into the politics her country. The middle was a bit slow. Made us all want to read or reread the classics.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.