What readers think of A Million Little Pieces, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Million Little Pieces

by James Frey

A Million Little Pieces by James Frey X
A Million Little Pieces by James Frey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2003, 400 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2004, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 9
There are currently 65 reader reviews for A Million Little Pieces
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Haggs

A million Little Ego Trips
I'll admit, very visceral and exciting. A great read!! A compelling story in much the same way Bar-Fly was a great Movie. However, dispite all the ego-trips Jim Frey has fighting the AA Way..I wouldn't recomend his way of getting clean to a single soul on Earth. Sure, it may be possible. But if you are an Asshole when using, why would anyone still want to be an asshole when sober? A Great Story by a DRY DRUNK!!
Melissa

I was looking forward to reading this book and am disappointed. I appreciate that Mr. Frey feels that he was writing his truth. I feel that while he has undoubtedly experienced addiction, he has no real understanding of it. It is disappointing. He could have helped with this book and he didn't. It's sensational and titillating and I can understand the appeal it has for some people, but people seem to regard it as a learning tool and it's real value is entertainment only. As I said, titillating. Too bad. He was honest, I have to give him credit for that, but I think he wrote this book with a motive (besides the obvious financial one) and the motive is nasty. Bad Karma, James!
Diane

A Million Little Pieces of Green Paper in His Bank Account
The Smoking Gun has just published an expose of Frey. To put it succintly, many of the criminal activites Frey claimed to have experienced were grossly exaggerated in the book, and it is now suspected that several characters and scenes in the book are entirely fictionalized. His description of "The Fury" and his supposed retention in the facility after abusing another patient were both overtly fake. Anyone who has struggled with addicition also knows that convincing oneself to "Hold on" is never enough. Additionally, it's nice of him to have now inculcated the "uselessness" of the twelve steps into the minds of thousands of readers, many of whom are struggling with their own addicitons and will most likely refuse this effective psychological treatment. It's also lovely that he decided to throw in some "badass" angst and hatred of God and religion, which will lead this sham to be espoused by an atheistic youth which already stereotypes the faithful as weak and dumb. He originally shopped the book around to publishing companies as a work of fiction, and only was able to sell it after "editing" it to be a nonfiction "memoir". His overisimplification of withdrawal, and his melodramatic relationship with Lilly are only a sampling of what seemed "off" upon reading this book. Spread the truth, and don't deposit into Frey's now 7 digit bank account.
Brian S

Whose life is it, anyway?
I have never read a "true" story that reeked so much of fiction.

Sneaking out of a treatment centre to meet another patient in the woods? Wow, that's the treatment centre I wish to go to next time. Off to the crack house to rescue her? Happens all the time.

A Judge as a fellow patient? No safety concerns, there. Just throw him in with addicts and criminals.

However, I admire Frey's memory. Every work of every conversation, from the first moment he arrives is vividly recounted in tedious detail. That he remembers anything in the first few days of his arrival would be a miracle, but, darn it, this guy remembers EVERYTHING.

And miracle of miracles, there was no need for detox for this fellow. Of course not. That would only happen in the real world. WIth real people.

I don't know what other addicts would think, but this one can tell that the emperor has no clothes.

But then again, given most reviews, even a poor con man can fool those who know not, really, of what he speaks.

True to his "addictive nature", he manipulates the reader who simply knows no better.
Jo Green

I was looking for connection to my drug addicted brother and I felt James Frey was able to help me in part with that. Thank you James for writing what must have put you back in a painful past. Thank you for delivering an unconditional love to Lily who never knew love from the moment she was born. Her story, more tragic to me, left me stunned. My anger for her mother and for the manner in which she was defied her entire life was subsided some because of the heart and soul you gave to her. I wish to love my own children stronger, hold them closer and hope for the children in this world who suffer from abuse.
Amber D

Amber - BookBrowse

Hi Katie,

James Frey has a website which provides a link to email him. You may find that at:
www.amillionlittlepieces.com
Jenn

Words cannot explain how much this book moved me. Even though I have not suffered from alcoghol or drug addiction I have suffered from depression most of my life and have been in and out of psychiatric hospitals. There are so many parallels between what was experienced and felt in the alcohol recovery centre as to what I went through in mental health hospitals. To anyone who has been through a simliar situation, you will understand the intense struggle that goes on inside your body and mind to regain a sense of who you are and why you are. At the end of the day the biggest struggle is learning to let go of the fear and just be.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who has been throught he system or is a friend or relative who has.
Nina

As an individual that has just entered the world of sobriety after 13 years of heavy drug use, this book was a God send. I found so much I could relate to and so much that gave me hope. I'm also young and angry and struggling to be free. I wanted to call James on the phone and ask him to sit me down and tell me how he did it. I was amazed, amused, saddend, and so much more. This is a wonderful book that while it may have it's low points is an inside look at addiction that no other book has ever provided in such a striking way.
I am honored to have had the opportunity to buy it and read it. I've actually bought several copies for my friends who are also recovery addicts.
Thank you James!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...
  • Book Jacket: Hello Beautiful
    Hello Beautiful
    by Ann Napolitano
    Ann Napolitano's much-anticipated Hello Beautiful pulls the reader into a warm, loving familial ...
  • Book Jacket: The West
    The West
    by Naoíse Mac Sweeney
    It's become common for history books and courses to reconsider the emphasis on "Western Civilization...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.