Reader reviews and comments on Stupid White Men, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Stupid White Men

...and Other Sorry Excuses for the State of the Nation!

by Michael Moore

Stupid White Men
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2002, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for Stupid White Men
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

from a small state (07/29/03)

Non patriotic??? It's too bad Mr. Moore was complaining about the fact that President Bush was not elected by the people??? Bo Hoo!!! To the two other reviewers: Although I don't agree with your political standpoints, I refuse to make that part of the case as for why I did or did not enjoy a book. It seems to me that the last two reviews were written on a basis of dislike for an author that is anti current government and not on the book itself. Hey, I'm disappointed enough in Bush that I'm thinking of getting out of dodge(ie. moving to another country so that my tax dollars aren't paying for so many things that I find shockingly wrong, wrong, wrong), but that has very little to due with that fact that I thought "Stupid White Men" was mildly entertaining at best. It seemed to be writen poorly and I just can't take someone's word for it when they are spewing out "facts" without backing them up. On the other hand, while Moore could have been hoodwinking us, I highly doubt his lies or lack of truth will ever bring our once great nation to war.
May peace prevail........
Tekla (07/29/03)

I did not enjoy this book at all. This book seemed like one big complaint about basically... everything. Michael Moore is very disrespectful and even makes sarcastic comments about our capitalistic government. This is pretty bold in my opinion because if our government was a different system (socialist,etc.) he couldn't have published a book like this. Overall, Moore seems very spiteful and almost makes everything out to be a conspiracy against what he wants.
beth (07/28/03)


I felt this author was a non-patriotic, self absorbed my way or the highway sort of man. He talks of fairness and what he really wants is to change the laws. These laws that have held us together, he does not belive in the long practiced electorial college/votes because he feels that he has lost. He is a bat today and a mamal tomarrow. If his leader, "The real president" he likes to call him had actually won and anyone had debated weather or not it was so then his stance would have been completly differend on the issue. The college vote was put in place to protect the little guy from ( smaller populated states) from being stepped on.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.