Reader reviews and comments on Memoirs, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Memoirs

A Twentieth Century Journey In Science And Politics

by Edward Teller, Judith Shoolery

Memoirs by Edward Teller, Judith Shoolery
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2001, 544 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2002, 627 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Memoirs
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Davina - BookBrowse.com

Edward Teller was one of the leading scientists of the 20th century and has been described as 'the father of the hydrogen bomb'. His memoirs run to 600 pages of small type (in paperback), covering most of the 20th century - from his birth in 1908 to the year 2000 which, although a mere 60 pages a decade, makes the book a fairly formidable tome. Most of his memoirs are very readable (from a layman's point of view) but I found myself getting a little bogged down towards the end, from about 1970 - which in fairness is only the last 100 pages or so. The first half of the book was the strongest for me - describing his childhood in Hungary and education in Germany during the rise of anti-Semitism, and the period leading up to the end of WWII, and the dropping of the hydrogen bombs on Japan - about which he expresses very frank, and perhaps surprising, opinions.  

Overall, an interesting memoir from an interesting and controversial man. As always, you don't have to take my opinion for it - you can browse the foreword and a substantial excerpt from the 2nd chapter by clicking on the 'excerpt' link above.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.