Reader reviews and comments on The Confessor, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Confessor

by Daniel Silva

The Confessor by Daniel Silva X
The Confessor by Daniel Silva
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2003, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2004, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Confessor
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

kinkazzo

Very fast paced and interesting topic: of course, the Vatican has already gone through many an intrigue recently. Just think of the Masonic P2 scandal, the crack of the Banco Ambrosiano bank and the "suicide" of Vatican businessman Calvi under the Blackfriar Bridge in London...! And more, with Bishop Marcincus of Vatican Bank fame, now an exiled pastor of souls back in the States, and banker Sindona killed by a poisonous coffee whilst in jail... And so on and so forth.
So, Silva's novel is quite to the point.
What I cannot understand is why can't writers get foreign language dialogues right. They do all other research quite accurately, but not the foreign language! I wonder why... By coincidence, same happens in another book of similar import (ANGELS & DEMONS by Dan Brown , also a thriller on Vatican intrigues). In the specific case of THE CONFESSOR, whenever Italian is used, the words and/or spelling are mostly wrong. Pity: it would make it so much more real.

Ah well, can't be too picky...

A good novel all the same. Bravo Daniel! check the review
Dee Townsend

So why is it "politically correct" to attack the Roman Catholic church, even in fiction? It is a completley racist book, which seems to be most popular only against catholics.

I understand there are books written that the holocast never really happened! And people are appalled by such blatant lying. So they should receive this latest book of Daniel Silva.

All religions go through traumatic times, when we even had a Pope's illegitimate son become Pope, but this is a vitriolic attack on the church.

Is his next book going to be about how African Americans caused their own slavery? Or that the Jewish people were to blame for their own nearly annihilation. Visit the holocaust museum to see how the Jewish people of Europe suffered and then tell me who in the WORLD helped them

Age 70
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.