Reader reviews and comments on Family Matters, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Family Matters

by Rohinton Mistry

Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry X
Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2002, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2003, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for Family Matters
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Joan

Family Matters
Family Matters is just that...the every day happenings and ups- and -downs in family life. The same issues affecting family relationships in Bombay, as anywhere else in the world. The characters are beautifully drawn, true-to-life, and with flaws we all relate to.
The ending is brilliant - the ends not all neatly explained nor explanations forthcoming.
I felt the characters were alive and living next door!
The text is slow, gentle,and a pleasure to read.
Ronin

Very Good Book. Readable, captivating.Touching storyline, memorable characters.
Joe

'Family Matters', like Mistry's other works of fiction, stands out from the crowd of the so-called 'postcolonial works' that have emerged from India after the 1980s. The most striking aspect of the book is that its theme revolves around a Parsi family. A story of love, hate, temptations, sin, faith redemption, and of course, Destiny. The old and terminally ill Nariman becomes an unavoidable presence in the lives of his daughetr Rexona and her family, when his stepchildren conveniently dumps him in her small apartment. Nariman's memories mingle with the fight for survival in Rexona and Yezad's (her husband) household and it makes their children learn lessons of compassion and selflessness. In the fight Yezad finds himself torn between his duties to the family and the inabitlity to raise the money which is badly needed thanks to the addition of a new, ailing member in the family. Why does he fall prey to the circumstances? Can his act be branded a betrayal? Why does his tormented mind seek solace in a religious fervour which he used to shun in an agnostic manner? And, why his younger son Jehangir, towards the end of the story, worries his head away about the happiness that is lacking in the family which is otherwise redeemed from all the worries? The answers are to be found in this novel that Mistry wrote after a long break. And for those who are interested in the Parsi quest for relevance in the novels of Mistry, this is a must read. Shortlisted for the 2003 Booker Prize. And, for the third time, Mistry lost the Prize by a narrow margin. The only drawback I could find about the book was the lack of a key to the terms related to the Parsi (Zoroastrians in India) religion. The length of the book is not a hindrance at all, for those who love reading the words of a master story-teller!
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.