Reader reviews and comments on From A Buick 8, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

From A Buick 8

by Stephen King

From A Buick 8 by Stephen King
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2002, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2003, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for From A Buick 8
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Roderick Pitts

This was an awesome book.
Ray Riehemann

I thought this book was terrific, once again Mr. King delves into the unknown, and your not sure where it is going to lead you. Very colorful desciptions of characters and places. I though it was extremely gutsy of him to do a book with the story set in Pennsylvania. In the authors notes he mentioned this. Great research and I think a damn fine book.
Oliver Burke

I simply loved this book, didn't want it to end. King's characterisation is brilliant-the State Troopers quickly become so real that the reader feels he is actually sharing a root-beer as they chat about life at D-Troop. A 'MUST' read.
Timmy O

This is definitely one of Stephen King's best efforts. I loved this book. By the end, you really care about each of the Pennslyvania troopers and how their stewardship of the Buick has impacted each of their lives. The story is mysterious and intriguing and "feels real."
Dell

This is one of my favorite King novels for several reasons. First, it is more like science fiction than horror. As I get older and face the horrors of my own mortality, I have become less interested in horror and more interested in the mysteries of all the unknowns in the universe. This book addresses the sinister appeal of death, even for the sane. It also tells me that not having an answer, not ever being able to get an answer IS actually an answer. The answer is "Don't even ask." Not knowing is better than knowing in some ways. I really liked the feeling I came away with, the important things in life are the small kindnesses, the good moments, the fleeting companionship of those we care about, not the big answers to the big questions. I loved this book and will read it again. I also would tell my friends to read it.
Haris Baki

Amazing!

Simply amazing! Eerie, haunting, dreamlike. Whatever he does, he does better than anyone! And do not afraid: It is nothing like Christine!
T-Bone

Would have worked better as a short story - interesting at times but ultimately unsatisfying
Jayant Saldanha

The first things that comes to mind is "christine...again?!?" . But this is a totally different book. Personally I liked the book for its great characterizations but was left feeling a tad unsatisfied because there were a number of loose ends. Not King's best but a good read nonetheless.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.