Reader reviews and comments on The Lobster Chronicles, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lobster Chronicles

Life On A Very Small Island

by Linda Greenlaw

The Lobster Chronicles
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2002, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2003, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 4 reader reviews for The Lobster Chronicles
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Steven Abell (07/24/04)

Lobster Chronicles took me back to the early 1960's when I fished for lobsters in Scituate, Massachuseets. I had taken a teaching steacher position in Scituate after living in Ohio for 21 years and spent a summer learning the ways of both the lobster and the ocean the hard way. Linda took me on quite a nostalgic trip. Her tales of island life were vivid and colorful. Anyone who has eaten a lobster will love this book as well as readers who have suffered illness within their family. I now live in North Texas far from the lobster grounds. I must return someday!
Bob (08/20/03)

I have experienced both books by Ms. Greenlaw. The 1st by audio tape and the second by reading. The 1st is more adventurous and entices you to read the 2nd one. The 2nd pulls you more into the experience of a struggling human being and you end up wanting to read a 3rd to see what happens (while hoping for a happy ending). The book doesn't end, it pauses.

It is entertaining and educational. Most of all it is an exposition of the struggles of life in work and the family. This is really reality; it's as though leisure time doesn't exist.

If I had to bet, I would not take the happy ending option. But I would bet the house that no matter what happens, Ms. Greenlaw is going to give it her best shot and be ready for more.

I would cast Katherine Hepburn for the movie version.
Kay (05/13/03)

As a midwesterner, I found the book fascinating. Greenlaw gives an honest and funny account of what her life on a tiny island is like. The reader can experience the island life through reading her book without leaving the convenience and trappings of mainland life. All that was missing were the smells and sounds of the ocean. I'd love to visit her island someday as a "day tripper."
nina (10/31/02)

i think that this book is not a good book for a college student, it is good book for a fisherman.
i think it is boring.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.