Reader reviews and comments on Master of the Senate, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Master of the Senate

The Years of Lyndon Johnson

by Robert A. Caro

Master of the Senate by Robert A. Caro
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2002, 1152 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2003, 1152 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 4 reader reviews for Master of the Senate
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mark_Bledsoe

Caro's series just keeps getting better. Shows the good and bad of LBJ, a true political genius, If you are a political junkie, this is the read for you.
Tom Perez-Lopez

Fantastic book! One gets the feeling that there is no other person on Earth who knows Lyndon B. Johnson like Caro does (perhaps better than Johnson did himself), and we are lucky that this knowledgeable person happens to also be one of the greatest storytellers in recent history. Caro makes Johnson truly come alive, and the reader feels a connection to both the foibles and the greatness of this epic man. An excellent read, both as a history of Johnson's life but also as a history of the Senate and the best account of Capitol Hill in the late forties and fifties.
Kikanza Nuri Robins

This is an extraordinary story, wonderfully told. It is not just the story of Lyndon Johnson. It is the story of the civil rights movement in the United States as played out in the senate, and it is the story of the US Senate. Caro is a consummate storyteller.
rtk

Caro's writing is engaging. I have read the series and the portrait of Johnson is spectacular.
The question to be addressed in the next and final book is "Did Johnson or in particular, his
rich cronies in Texas, have anything to do with the assassination of John Kennedy?" After
reading this most recent volume, there is no doubt in my mind that they would stop at nothing
to make Johnson president.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.