MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Handpicked recommendations to other books that have a similar writing style or theme to My Father's Tears

My Father's Tears

by John Updike

My Father's Tears by John Updike X
My Father's Tears by John Updike
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2009, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2010, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Natasha Vargas-Cooper
Buy This Book

About this Book

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full read-alike results are for members only

If you liked My Father's Tears, try these:

  • Pulse jacket

    Pulse

    by Julian Barnes

    Published Feb 2012

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    After the best-selling Arthur & George and Nothing to Be Frightened Of, Julian Barnes returns with fourteen stories about longing and loss, friendship and love, whose mysterious natures he examines with his trademark wit and observant eye.

  • Apparition & Late Fictions jacket

    Apparition & Late Fictions

    by Thomas Lynch

    Published Feb 2011

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Heart-rending stories of life and death: a debut fiction collection by the award-winning author of The Undertaking.

Read-alikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
How we choose read-alikes

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 3 months or $12 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...
  • Book Jacket: Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    by Dexter Palmer
    The year is 1726 and the sleepy town of Godalming has been rocked by scandal. Called to the bedside ...
  • Book Jacket: Life Undercover
    Life Undercover
    by Amaryllis Fox
    Life Undercover, a riveting true-adventure memoir, reveals how and why a young woman decides to work...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Paris Diversion
by Chris Pavone

A pulse-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Expats.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    You Were There Too
    by Colleen Oakley

    Acclaimed author Colleen Oakley delivers a heart-wrenching and unforgettable love story.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.