Handpicked recommendations to other books that have a similar writing style or theme to Nickel and Dimed

Nickel and Dimed

On (Not) Getting By in America

by Barbara Ehrenreich

Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich X
Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 221 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full read-alike results are for members only

If you liked Nickel and Dimed, try these:

  • Squeezed jacket

    Squeezed

    by Alissa Quart

    Published Jun 2018

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Families today are squeezed on every side - from high childcare costs and harsh employment policies to workplaces without paid family leave or even dependable and regular working hours. Many realize that attaining the standard of living their parents managed has become impossible.

  • A Free Man jacket

    A Free Man

    by Aman Sethi

    Published Oct 2013

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    In a time of global economic strain, this is an unforgettable evocation of persistence in the face of poverty in one of the world’s largest cities.

Read-alikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
How we choose read-alikes

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Winter Soldier
by Daniel Mason

A story of war and medicine, of finding love in the sweeping tides of history, and of the mistakes we make.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Gone So Long
    by Andre Dubus III

    Dubus' first novel in a decade is a masterpiece of thrilling tension and heartrending empathy.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Lost Queen

The Lost Queen

This tale of bravery and conflicted love brings a lost queen, the sister of Merlin, back to life.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

F R I W A Fear T T

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.