Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022

Handpicked recommendations to other books that have a similar writing style or theme to Nickel and Dimed

Nickel and Dimed

On (Not) Getting By in America

by Barbara Ehrenreich

Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich X
Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 221 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2002, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full read-alike results are for members only

If you liked Nickel and Dimed, try these:

  • On the Clock jacket

    On the Clock

    by Emily Guendelsberger

    Published Jul 2020

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The bitingly funny, eye-opening story of a college-educated young professional who finds work in the automated and time-starved world of hourly labor.

  • Squeezed jacket

    Squeezed

    by Alissa Quart

    Published May 2019

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Families today are squeezed on every side - from high childcare costs and harsh employment policies to workplaces without paid family leave or even dependable and regular working hours. Many realize that attaining the standard of living their parents managed has become impossible.

Read-alikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
How we choose read-alikes

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Bewilderment
    by Richard Powers
    In 2019, Richard Powers won the Pulitzer Prize for The Overstory, a sprawling novel whose characters...
  • Book Jacket: I'm the Girl
    I'm the Girl
    by Courtney Summers
    YA author Courtney Summers doesn't believe in shielding her teenage readers from the world's darkest...
  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Cradles of the Reich
by Jennifer Coburn
Three women, a nation seduced by a madman, and the Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race.
Who Said...

I always find it more difficult to say the things I mean than the things I don't.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.