Who said: "Who dares to teach must never cease to learn."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Who dares to teach must never cease to learn" - John Cotton Dana

John Cotton Dana was born in Woodstock, Vermont in 1856. During his forty years as a public librarian he made many innovations that made public libraries more relevant to the daily lives of people.

After graduating from Dartmouth College, Dana studied law, which he practiced in Colorado for nine years until becoming director of the Denver Public Library in 1889. During his time at Denver Public Library he pioneered many of the concepts that would define his legacy; not least allowing patrons to browse the stacks for themselves, turning the library into a community center as much as a collection of books, and introducing the first ever children's library room - although it seems that he may have envisaged this space would be used by school teachers more so than the children themselves.

In 1898 he moved to Springfield, Massachusetts for four years where he introduced many of the same changes he had made in Denver. In addition, he made radical changes to the building itself - ordering walls and railings to be torn down so as to create a more open floor plan.

Choosing not to get involved in local politics, he left Springfield four years later for Newark, New Jersey. While there he established foreign language collections for immigrants and also developed the first collection intended to provide resources to business - the first of its kind in the USA. In addition he founded the Newark Museum and served as president of the American Library Association (which, since the mid-50s, has awarded the John Cotton Dana Public Relations Award each year to libraries exhibiting outstanding public relations)

Dana remained Newark Public Library's director until his death in 1929. In the years following, he was named "The First Citizen of Newark" and Newark's main library was named after him.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.