Who said: "The thing that cowardice fears most is decision"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The thing that cowardice fears most is decision." - Søren Kierkegaard

Soren KierkegaardDanish philosopher, theologian and cultural critic Søren Aabye Kierkegaard was born in Copenhagen in 1813. He was a strong critic of the Church of Denmark and Hegelianism. Hegelianism is the school of thought based on the philosophy of Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel (1770-1831) which can be summed up as "the rational alone is real"; whereas Kierkegaard posited what has become known as the "leap of faith" – arguing that faith is not a decision based on evidence alone. However, Kierkegaard did not believe in blind faith, instead he argued that faith was intrinsically linked with doubt. His argument goes something like this – to truly have faith in God, one would also have to doubt one's beliefs about God – as doubt is the rational thought process, without which the faith would have no real substance. To quote Kierkegaard, "doubt is conquered by faith, just as it is faith which has brought doubt into the world."

Some argue that Kierkegaard is both the father of existentialism and of modern psychology. He wrote voluminously during his short lifetime, dying at the age of 42

More quotes from Kierkegaard

  • Prayer does not change God, but it changes him who prays
  • The tyrant dies and his rule is over, the martyr dies and his rule begins
  • Face the facts of being what you are, for that is what changes what you are
  • It is so hard to believe because it is so hard to obey
  • Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards
  • Love is all, it gives all, and it takes all
  • Once you label me you negate me
  • Our life always expresses the result of our dominant thoughts
  • Patience is necessary, and one cannot reap immediately where one has sown

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.