Who said: "When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

E. W. Howe "When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time." - Edgar Watson Howe

Born in 1853 in Wabash County, Indiana, Howe acquired much of his education while working as a printer, before eventually becoming a journalist. He became known as a coiner of commonsense but somewhat bitter aphorisms, which may have been due in part to his unhappy domestic life - he married in 1873 but was apparently 'wretchedly unhappy' and divorced in 1901 never to marry again.

From 1877-1911 he was both editor and proprietor of the Atchison Daily Globe (Kansas). Then from 1911 to 1937 he edited E.W. Howe's Monthly, which contained many of his observations - which were collected in a number of contemporary books of aphorisms.

His first and best known novel, The Story of a Country Town, was published in 1883. It received praise from prominent contemporaries such as Mark Twain; but after this he turned his hand to writing romances which were less well received. He died in 1937.


More from Edgar Watson Howe

A good scare is worth more to a man than good advice

A man will do more for his stubbornness than for his religion or his country.

A woman is as old as she looks before breakfast.

Every successful person I have heard of has done the best he could with the conditions as he found them, and not waited until next year for better.

For every quarrel a man and wife have before others, they have a hundred when alone.

Many a man is saved from being a thief by finding everything locked up.

The most destructive criticism is indifference.

The underdog often starts the fight, and occasionally the upper dog deserves to win.

The worst feeling in the world is the homesickness that comes over a man occasionally when he is at home.

Image from the George Grantham Bain collection, Library of Congress

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.