Who said: "When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

E. W. Howe "When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time." - Edgar Watson Howe

Born in 1853 in Wabash County, Indiana, Howe acquired much of his education while working as a printer, before eventually becoming a journalist. He became known as a coiner of commonsense but somewhat bitter aphorisms, which may have been due in part to his unhappy domestic life - he married in 1873 but was apparently 'wretchedly unhappy' and divorced in 1901 never to marry again.

From 1877-1911 he was both editor and proprietor of the Atchison Daily Globe (Kansas). Then from 1911 to 1937 he edited E.W. Howe's Monthly, which contained many of his observations - which were collected in a number of contemporary books of aphorisms.

His first and best known novel, The Story of a Country Town, was published in 1883. It received praise from prominent contemporaries such as Mark Twain; but after this he turned his hand to writing romances which were less well received. He died in 1937.


More from Edgar Watson Howe

A good scare is worth more to a man than good advice

A man will do more for his stubbornness than for his religion or his country.

A woman is as old as she looks before breakfast.

Every successful person I have heard of has done the best he could with the conditions as he found them, and not waited until next year for better.

For every quarrel a man and wife have before others, they have a hundred when alone.

Many a man is saved from being a thief by finding everything locked up.

The most destructive criticism is indifference.

The underdog often starts the fight, and occasionally the upper dog deserves to win.

The worst feeling in the world is the homesickness that comes over a man occasionally when he is at home.

Image from the George Grantham Bain collection, Library of Congress

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...
  • Book Jacket: The Orchard
    The Orchard
    by David Hopen
    The protagonist of David Hopen's first novel, The Orchard, is 17-year-old Aryeh Eden, a Brooklyn boy...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.