Who said: "The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it."
- James Bryce


James BryceJames Bryce was born in Belfast, Ireland in 1838 and brought up in Scotland. After attending Trinity College Cambridge he was elected a fellow of Oriel College, Oxford. His 1864 work, The Holy Roman Empire, established his reputation as a legal historian. His 1901 Studies in History and Jurisprudence led to a revival in the study of Roman law (the legal system of ancient Rome from 449 BC to about 530 AD, which serves as the legal basis for much of Continental Europe).

An avid traveler, Bryce made the first of many trips to the USA in 1870 where he is best known for The American Commonwealth (1888), a study of United States political institutions.

In 1880 he entered the British House of Commons where he sat for over 20 years as a Liberal member, at different times serving as Undersecretary for Foreign Affairs, President of the Board of Trade, Chairman of the Royal Commission on Secondary Education and Chief Secretary for Ireland.

His 1895 visit to South Africa led him to protest the handling of negotiations with the Boer republics, an argument he laid out in Impressions of South Africa (1897) which influenced the Liberal position on the Boer War.

From 1907-1913 he was the British Ambassador to the United States. On his return to Britain in 1913 he was elevated to the peerage, and thus to the House of Lords, becoming the 1st Viscount Bryce of Dechmount in the County of Lanark. During the remaining 9 years of his life, he served on the International Court at The Hague and supported the establishment of the League of Nations. He died in 1922 at the age of 83

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.