MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "You can lead a man to Congress, but you can't make him think."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"You can lead a man to Congress, but you can't make him think."

Milton BerleMendel "Milton Berle" Berlinger (1908-2002) was an Emmy-winning American comedian and actor who, as the host of NBC's Texaco Star Theater from 1948–1955, is remembered as the first major TV star, known to millions as Uncle Miltie or Mr. Television.

Milton Berle was born in Manhattan to Sarah and Moses Berlinger (a paint and varnish salesman). He started appearing in films at the age of 6 (although perhaps not in as many as his later accounts claimed) and took his professional name, Milton Berle, at the age of 16. His mother apparently became so stage struck that she later changed her name to Sandra Berle.

In 1916 he was enrolled in the Professional Children's School, and made his stage debut at the age of 12 in Florodora. The show transferred to Broadway after four weeks, launching him on an eight decade comedy career including Broadway, vaudeville, Las Vegas, films, TV and radio.

The Texaco Star Theater began on ABC radio in September 1948, moving to Tuesday night TV shortly after. The show held the number one ratings slot for some years, sometimes achieving an 80% audience share and causing theaters, restaurants and businesses to shut down for the hour, or even the whole evening, rather than compete with the show. Apparently, there was even an investigation into the drastic drop in reservoir water levels between 9.00 and 9.05, which was resolved when officials realized that this was when the Texaco Star Theater ended and the audience rushed for the bathroom! The show also triggered a massive increase in TV sale, which doubled to two million in 1949.

Married four times, Berle died on March 27, 2002; the same day that Director Billy Wilder and comedian Dudley Moore also died.


More quotes:

  • A committee is a group that keeps minutes and loses hours.
  • I just filled out my income tax forms. Who says you can't get killed by a blank?
  • I live to laugh, and I laugh to live.
  • If evolution really works, how come mothers only have two hands?
  • Laughter is an instant vacation.
  • Poverty is not a disgrace, but it's terribly inconvenient.
  • The company accountant is shy and retiring. He's shy a quarter of a million dollars. That's why he's retiring.
  • We owe a lot to Thomas Edison - if it wasn't for him, we'd be watching television by candlelight.
  • If opportunity doesn't knock, build a door.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.