Who said: "There is no such thing as a moral or immoral book. Books are either well written or badly written. That is all."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"There is no such thing as a moral or immoral book. Books are either well written or badly written. That is all." - Oscar Wilde

Oscar WildeOscar Fingal O'Flahertie Wills Wilde (1854-1900) was born in Dublin Ireland, educated at the Portora Royal School at Enniskillen, where he excelled at the classics, taking top prize his last two years, and also earning a second prize in drawing. He then studied at Trinity College, Dublin where he won the college's Berkeley Gold Medal for Greek and was awarded a Demyship scholarship to Magdalen College in Oxford.

He married Constance Lloyd in 1884 and had two sons, Cyril and Vyvyan for whom he wrote the classic children's fairy stories The Happy Prince and Other Tales (1888). His works include The Picture of Dorian Gray (his only novel, 1891), and several comic plays, including Lady Windermere's Fan (1892) and The Importance of Being Earnest (1895).

In 1891, he met Lord Alfred 'Bosie' Douglas, the third son of the Marquis of Queensberry and they became lovers until Wilde's arrest four years later. In April 1895, Wilde sued the Marquis who had accused him of homosexuality. Wilde withdrew his case but was himself arrested and convicted of gross indecency and sentenced to two years hard labor. Constance took the children to Switzerland and reverted to an old family name, "Holland."

Upon his release, Oscar wrote "The Ballad of Reading Gaol", a response to the agony he experienced in prison. It was published shortly before Constance's death in 1898. He and Bosie reunited briefly, but Oscar mostly spent the last three years of his life wandering Europe, staying with friends and living in cheap hotels. He died in Paris in November 1990.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.