MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "Tread softly because you tread on my dreams."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams."
-- W.B. Yeats


W.B. Yeats William Butler Yeats (1865–1939), winner of the 1923 Nobel Prize for Literature, was born in Dublin, Ireland and educated in London and Dublin. He was a leading figure in the Irish Literary Revival - a late 19th and early 20th-century movement that aimed to revive ancient Irish folklore, legends, and traditions in new literary works. He co-founded the Irish Literary Theatre in 1899 and was a director of the Abbey Theatre, Dublin. From 1922-28 he was also a senator of the Irish Free State*.

In 1888 he published The Wanderings of Oisin, a long narrative poem that established his reputation; and in 1893 he published The Celtic Twilight, a book of peasant legends. In total, he wrote nearly 30 plays and a number of books of poetry. Critics consider his best poetry to be that inspired by personal longing - principally his unrequited love for Maud Gonne (an Irish actress and political activist who founded the revolutionary group, the Daughters of Erin) and his longing for the mythical "Irish Golden Age".

*The Irish Free State came into being following the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty in December 1921 and comprised of 26 of Ireland's 32 counties. The remaining 6 "Northern Ireland" counties already had their own government under the Government of Ireland Act 1920 and chose to opt out of the Free State and thus remained part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...
  • Book Jacket: Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    by Dexter Palmer
    The year is 1726 and the sleepy town of Godalming has been rocked by scandal. Called to the bedside ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Lady Clementine
    by Marie Benedict

    An illuminating look at one of history's most unusual and extraordinary women, Clementine Churchill.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.