Who said: "The worst thing about reading new books..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The worst thing about reading new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones."
— Joseph Joubert

Joseph JoubertJoseph Joubert (1754-1824) was a French moralist and essayist. He attended a religious college in Toulouse from the age of 14 where he later taught until he was 26, after which he went to Paris where he later became friends with the writer and statesman Francis René, Vicomte de Chateaubriand (one of the founders of romanticism in French literature, whose name lives on through the eponymously named Chateaubriand steak, created by his chef).

Joubert published nothing during his lifetime but wrote copious letters and filled many notebooks with thoughts about the nature of humanity, literature and other subjects. After his death his widow entrusted Chateaubriand with his notes some of which were published in 1838 in a volume titled Recueil des pensées de M. Joubert (Collected Thoughts of Mr. Joubert). Joubert's Pensées have been published in many languages, including English.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    by Ellen Cooney
    In One Night Two Souls Went Walking, we follow a young interfaith chaplain as she carries out her ...
  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.