Who said: "Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics is like asking a lamp post how it feels about dogs."
— Christopher Hampton

Christopher HamptonChristopher Hampton (born 1946) is a British playwright, screen writer and film director. His list of credits for both writing, producing and directing is extensive (full list) and includes both the play based on the novel, Les Liaisons Dangereuses, and the film Dangerous Liaisons; and the screenplay for the film adaptation of Ian McEwan's Atonement.

He is also the translator of Yasmina Reza's plays from the original French, Art (1996) and Conversations after a Burial (2000).

As a child he lived in Aden, Egypt and Zanzibar; at 13 he went to Lancing College, a British boarding school; then to New College, Oxford as a Sacher Scholar, where he studied German and French, and graduated with a First Class Degree in 1968. He became involved with the theater while at university, and became the youngest writer to ever have a play performed in the West End (the London theater district) in 1966.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Wherever they burn books, in the end will also burn human beings.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.