Novelist & cartoonist Doug Marlette dies

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Novelist & cartoonist Doug Marlette dies

Jul 11 2007

Novelist and Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Doug Marlette died yesterday in a single-car accident in Mississippi at the age of 57, when the car that he was a passenger in struck a tree. Marlette won a Pulitzer in 1988 for his cartoons in the Observer and Atlanta Journal-Consititution. He later worked at New York Newsday and the Tallahassee Democrat. He also drew a popular nationally syndicated comic strip, "Kudzu", and wrote two novels - The Bridge (2001), which was voted Best Book of the Year for Fiction by the Southeast Booksellers Association; and Magic Time (2006) which received exceptional reviews and was published in paperback in June 2007.

More News Stories

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.