Some or all of remaining Borders stores to be liquidated by Nov 13

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Some or all of remaining Borders stores to be liquidated by Nov 13

Jul 15 2011

Yesterday, The New York Times reported that embattled bookseller Borders is likely to face liquidation after a committee of its unsecured creditors rejected a buyout proposal from private equity firm Najafi Cos, on the basis that Najafi would be getting the assets too cheaply and was more than likely to liquidate them itself for a profit later.

Today, Publishers Weekly posted a list of remaining Borders stores saying "even in the best case scenario a large number of outlets will be closed. If the stalking horse $215.1 million offer by the liquidator group is accepted all outlets will be closed and inventory sold...by November 13.

More News Stories

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.