Attempt to ban book backfires with 700 copies given away in the community

BookBrowse News - The Full Story

Attempt to ban book backfires with 700 copies given away in the community

Apr 28 2014

Earlier this year, the local school board in Meridian, Idaho, removed Sherman Alexie's The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian from the 10th grade curriculum following complaints by some parents.

Hundreds of students signed a petition to have the book returned. When Washington State residents, Sara Baker and Jennifer Lott, heard of the petition, they spearheaded a fundraising drive to purchase 350 copies of the novel.

Using the funds raised, Rediscovered Books in Boise bought the books and on World Book Night, Brady Kissel, a student from nearby Junior Mountain View High School, went to Kleiner Park in Meridian to distribute copies. Within an hour the police showed up having been called by someone concerned that teenagers were being giving copies of a book without their parent's permission. After talking with Kissel the police concluded that "they found nothing wrong with what was going on in the park."

Alexie's publisher, Little Brown, has donated a further 350 copies which will be distributed to local and school libraries, and teachers in need of classroom sets. Any remaining copies will be given away to the public.

Alexie, who in the past has said that sales of his books always spike when there is an attempt to ban any of them from the curriculum, wrote in an email to his publisher, "I am honored by the hundreds of Meridian students who showed incredible passion and courage for books....Mine, yes, but literature in general. And Sara Baker and Jennifer Lott are friggin' superheroes. If I ever get caught in a fire, I'm calling them."

More News Stories

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.