We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Booth by Karen Joy Fowler

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Booth

by Karen Joy Fowler

Booth by Karen Joy Fowler X
Booth by Karen Joy Fowler
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2022, 480 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2023, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Karen Joy Fowler's eighth novel gives backstory to the assassination of Abraham Lincoln: John Wilkes Booth's large, ill-fated family.

John Wilkes Booth is remembered as the actor who assassinated President Abraham Lincoln at Ford's Theatre on April 14, 1865. But his family may just be of greater interest. In an epic fictional sweep from 1822 to nearly the close of the century, Karen Joy Fowler surveys the Booth family's triumphs and tragedies.

Patriarch Junius Brutus Booth is a melodramatic Shakespearean actor, often away on tour. He vociferously defends his beliefs in equality and vegetarianism, yet leases slave labor on his family farm near present-day Bel Air, Maryland. Mother is frequently pregnant and eventually there are 10 children, four of whom die young. Parts of the novel are told from the perspective of oldest daughter Rosalie. "Grief has destroyed Rosalie's parents right before her eyes," Fowler writes. "It seems to Rosalie that God has reached down and scooped out the middle of her family as if He were eating a watermelon." These lost children linger in the household as ghostly reminders of failure and the hand of fate.

The narration also prioritizes the point of view of second son Edwin, who follows in his father's footsteps as an actor — and an abuser of alcohol. "In spite of the raving and drunkenness, the violence and temper, the Booth children all adore their father." Eldest child Junius also becomes an actor and theater manager; John (nicknamed "Johnny"), the second-youngest, has no natural acting talent but pushes himself to memorize Shakespeare monologues so that he, too, can be a part of the family dynasty (see Beyond the Book).

Short asides chronicle Lincoln's rise in parallel. Fowler slips in passages that trace the country's political turmoil, not just over slavery but also concerning immigration — Johnny aligns himself with the xenophobic Know-Nothing party, and is a Confederate sympathizer. The novel draws in a lot of big topics: the treatment of Black people in the United States, addiction, mental illness and extramarital relationships. It also gives intimate details of the everyday challenges of 19th-century life, such as during a hard winter when the family nearly starves.

It's clear from his childhood onward that Johnny is on the wrong path. He "runs with a gang of young toughs who call themselves the Baltimore Bully Boys" and instigates a rebellion at his boarding school; he beats up neighbors and kills animals for fun.

The foreshadowing of what is to come is sometimes heavy-handed. Fifteen-year-old Johnny boasts, "Turns out I'm quite a decent shot." We learn that a future family wedding announcement will list "two … brothers, the late Junius Booth Jr. and the late great actor Edwin Booth. No other brother will be mentioned." There is dramatic irony between what characters think and what we now know, as when Mother says of Johnny, "If only he would keep out of scrapes. He's such a good boy at heart."

But not all of the foreshadowing is Fowler's own. In real life, Johnny wrote down a fortune teller's early-1850s assessment of him and kept the paper on his person, often referring to it in the future. Part of it reads, "You'll die young … You're born under an unlucky star. You've got in your hand a thundering crowd of enemies—not one friend—you'll make a bad end … You'll have a fast life—short, but a grand one." What a gift to a fiction writer!

There are plenty such dramatic moments, but the extended timeline means there is also some skating over of long periods. Booth is low on scenes and dialogue, with Fowler conveying a lot of information through exposition. Luckily, the present-tense narration goes a long way toward making this less of a dull group biography and more of an unfolding story. I also appreciated that Rosalie and the other Booth sister, Asia, are given major roles as point-of-view characters. Fowler acknowledges in the afterword that there is little trace of Rosalie in the historical record, but she felt it important to imagine her so as to convey how limited life was for chronically ill women at the time. (Rosalie was known as an "invalid" and her death certificate mentioned scoliosis.)

Truth is stranger than fiction, the old saying goes. That's the case with the Booth family for sure. And the matters considered here, like racial equality, political divisions and mistrust of the government, are just as important in our own day, as Fowler remarks in her author's note. I've also read her We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and The Jane Austen Book Club, and each book is totally different. That's proof of a talented and versatile novelist. I'd especially recommend Booth to fans of Geraldine Brooks' March and Maggie O'Farrell's Hamnet.

Reviewed by Rebecca Foster

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in March 2022, and has been updated for the February 2023 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Booth, try these:

  • The House Is on Fire jacket

    The House Is on Fire

    by Rachel Beanland

    Published 2024

    About this book

    The author of Florence Adler Swims Forever returns with a masterful work of historical fiction about an incendiary tragedy that shocked a young nation and tore apart a community in a single night—told from the perspectives of four people whose actions during the inferno changed the course of history.

  • The Lincoln Highway jacket

    The Lincoln Highway

    by Amor Towles

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    Winner of the 2021 BookBrowse Fiction Award

    The bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow and Rules of Civility and master of absorbing, sophisticated fiction returns with a stylish and propulsive novel set in 1950s America.

We have 6 read-alikes for Booth, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Karen Joy Fowler
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.