Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Fundamentals by Frank Wilczek

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fundamentals

Ten Keys to Reality

by Frank Wilczek

Fundamentals by Frank Wilczek X
Fundamentals by Frank Wilczek
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2021, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2022, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Ian Muehlenhaus
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Nobel laureate Frank Wilczek provides an accessible account of where we are today in our understanding of physics, how we got here, and where we may be headed in the future.

Is what you're reading right now real? Does the person that wrote it even exist? (I think I do, but that does not make it true!) Despite its understated title, these are the huge, epistemological questions Fundamentals helps the reader approach.

If anyone can manage to pull off explaining reality to a layperson in under 300 pages, Frank Wilczek seems a likely candidate. He is a renowned researcher who has worked on myriad advances in subatomic particles and physics over decades. Beyond his bona fide chops as a scientist, Wilczek writes with a clarity and sensitivity that has eluded many other authors of bestselling books in the layperson physics genre. Fundamentals is not so much an exposition by a bright scientist, but a scientist's summary of how we humans have answered existential questions and how we can continue pecking away at new ones in the future.

Perhaps the greatest compliment one can give a book covering the topics of astrophysics, biochemistry and quantum theory is that it reads almost effortlessly. The downside of many books in the "science of reality" genre is that even the best ones can be a slog to get through. Not knowing what the reader already knows, authors tend to spend an inordinate amount of time reviewing the core concepts underlying their new discoveries. These concepts — general relativity, quantum mechanics, the big bang, black holes — are not light or easy to skim over. Only after going through the "basics" can an author dive into their more nuanced insights — e.g., string theory, black holes, multiverses. Fundamentals avoids this trope, and its "10-step" approach to explanation is remarkably accessible.

Wilczek adroitly intersperses the technicalities of subatomic particles with slice-of-life vignettes from his own experiences and uses metaphors that are memorable and convincing. His narrative voice is neither too smart nor too cute. Fundamentals informs while never feeling condescending, and it goes into great detail without losing clarity.

The first five chapters cover the basics like all other books, but in a unique format. Instead of reciting the great discoveries and theories chronologically, Wilczek breaks down what is known into concise chapters with simple titles (i.e., "There's Plenty of Time," "There Are Very Few Ingredients," etc.). What differentiates Wilczek's approach from others is that he contextualizes each topic holistically. Whereas many similar books focus on the quantum (microscale) or the astronomical (macroscale) as two disparate entities that are somehow connected but not yet unified under a grand theory, Wilczek covers all such topics as a broad continuum. He notes without irony that though we look at the stars above us when we think about life, the universe, and everything, we may be better served to look inward. Each human body is arguably even more complex and mysterious, as it contains more atoms than there are stars in the universe.

The second half of the book is where Wilczek thrives. The final five topics are forward-looking, providing an outline of where scientific and critical thought can lead us in the future. A core goal of Fundamentals is to explore how the human race even got to the point where we are able to think about and answer both abstract and exacting questions about the larger universe.

Through what Wilczek calls "radical conservatism," science pushes our knowledge forward. Beyond just applying and sticking to the facts, he argues we learn more about our reality by attempting to apply what we know from one area into new contexts, even when we can't be sure that what we know actually works in a different time or place. When radical conservatism is effective, "you've discovered something useful," and when it's not, "you've learned something important." Science succeeds when we test our assumptions and disprove what we believe we already know.

Unlike any other book in this genre that I have read, Fundamentals does not conclude with a litany of questions to be answered before we know our place in reality. It doesn't end with a trite tale about future civilizations being built on our early work. Instead, it breaks the mold by offering a key and applicable takeaway.

In the spirit of "radical conservatism," Wilczek notes that there are myriad, context-based perspectives to all of reality, and no single perspective is ever true. This is a well-established fact but easy to forget. He recommends that by applying multi-perspective, open approaches to analyzing our everyday lives (i.e., our individual realities), we might become a more open-minded, empathetic, and capable problem-solving species. In essence, humility and awe about our place in reality — from the interstellar to the subatomic — will lead us to greater discoveries and a healthier existence during our relatively short period of consciousness in this universe.

In that sense, it may be the most hopeful, humanitarian book on physics you'll ever read.

Reviewed by Ian Muehlenhaus

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2021, and has been updated for the January 2022 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Falsity of a Real Reality

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Fundamentals, try these:

  • The Milky Way jacket

    The Milky Way

    by Moiya McTier

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Astrophysicist and folklorist Dr. Moiya McTier channels the Milky Way in this approachable and utterly fascinating autobiography of the titular galaxy, detailing what humans have discovered about everything from its formation to its eventual death, and what more there is to learn about this galaxy we call home.

  • Genesis jacket

    Genesis

    by Guido Tonelli

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A breakout bestseller in Italy, now available for American readers for the first time, Genesis: The Story of How Everything Began is a short, humanistic tour of the origins of the universe, earth, and life - drawing on the latest discoveries in physics to explain the seven most significant moments in the creation of the cosmos.

We have 7 read-alikes for Fundamentals, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.