Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Raybearer

by Jordan Ifueko

Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko X
Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2020, 368 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2021, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Michelle Anya Anjirbag
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A breathtaking and innovative YA fantasy debut about loyalty and power set in a remarkably original new world.

Sixteen-year-old Tarasai has never known anything outside of her tutors; the compound of Bhekina House; the Swana Grasslands (one of the 12 realms of the empire of Aritsar); and The Lady, her mysterious mother who is away more than she is around. Her father Melu, whom she has met only once, is an alagbato — one of the guardians of Swana. She is lonely, craving love, or simply human contact. In Bhekina House, The Lady has forbidden anyone to touch Tarasai, as she has a special gift that allows her to see other people's memories when she touches them. Her life is full of lessons in language and history, though she's unsure what she is preparing for. All she knows is that whenever The Lady appears to test her, she is found lacking.

But suddenly, Tarasai is sent away by The Lady to the capital of Aritsar to compete with other children vying to become one of Crown Prince Ekundayo's Council of Eleven. Every member of the council must have a Hallow, a special gift like hers, and every member must also love the Crown Prince so that they can bond with him through something known as the Ray. Together, the Council of Eleven and the Emperor — the Raybearer — rule the empire of Aritsar.

Tarasai's new life away from Bhekina House opens up her world in many ways. For the first time she has a chance at the family she has always craved; yet she learns that life is far more complicated than she previously believed, and some things cannot be taught. As she embarks on her journey across the 12 realms of Aritsar, Tarasai's view of the world, the empire she is to help rule, and even her own history, change, and her desires begin to clash with The Lady's commands. Tarasai — and the reader — grapple with the pull between destiny and free will, and the question of whether one person might truly be able to change the world.

In Raybearer, Jordan Ifueko opens the genre of fantasy further, stepping beyond old tropes and stories of power struggles to present something new. She proves that fantasy can be simultaneously diverse, political, and filled with wonder, and in dialogue with more than just one tradition. It's a development that the genre has desperately needed for a long time. She also proves that it's possible to explore the themes of imperialism and colonialism in fantasy without alienating readers and in a way that proffers a new kind of solution at the end, where new potential worlds can be envisioned. Readers who have already explored the worlds crafted by authors such as Tomi Adeyemi and Tamora Pierce will love Raybearer and eagerly await Ifueko's next venture, whether set in Aritsar or another world altogether.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in August 2020, and has been updated for the August 2021 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Raybearer, try these:

  • Foul Days jacket

    Foul Days

    by Genoveva Dimova

    Published 2024

    About this book

    The Witcher meets Naomi Novik in this fast-paced fantasy rooted in Slavic folklore, from an assured new voice in genre fiction.

  • The Last Bloodcarver jacket

    The Last Bloodcarver

    by Vanessa Le

    Published 2024

    About this book

    "A gritty world filled with a beautifully crafted cast and an intricate magic system. A smart, lush, and utterly compelling read." —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Legend

We have 11 read-alikes for Raybearer, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jordan Ifueko
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Who Said...

When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.