Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Wyoming by JP Gritton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wyoming

by JP Gritton

Wyoming by JP Gritton X
Wyoming by JP Gritton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Nov 2019, 246 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Ian Muehlenhaus
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A character study of family dysfunction and brooding resentment in 1980s, working-class America.

Looking to read a story set in Wyoming? You will be disappointed. The novel is not about Wyoming at all (see Beyond the Book for insight on the author's choice of title). Instead, it's a character study of protagonist Shelley Cooper, depicting how his dysfunctional family struggled to make ends meet in Colorado in the mid-1980s.

The story starts with Shelley getting caught stealing a compressor from his boss at a construction site. He is fired and soon finds himself in need of money. Clayton, Shelley's brother, has plenty. Clayton is the family benefactor. He earns a lot of cash growing marijuana in Colorado and selling it in Houston. He's also Shelley's nemesis. Nonetheless, Shelley agrees to drive a shipment of dope to Houston for Clayton to make some cash, and in due course, sibling resentment leads to self-sabotage.

Wyoming hops around geographically, but also temporally, back and forth through Shelley's adult life in the late-1970s and early 1980s. His story is pieced together via non-linear recollections. Tracing the family's dysfunction across Colorado, Missouri and Texas while also trying to keep track of when things are occurring induces a pleasant vertigo. One wants to interrupt and ask clarifying questions, as though a friend was relaying the story off-the-cuff.

At the start, it's easy to cheer for the protagonist; he builds a rapport with the reader. Shelley is candid about his innate character flaws. He is a caustic individual when he is mad, and he is mad a lot. His resentment corrodes every relationship he has. Yet, in the beginning, his anger does not seem entirely unwarranted—it makes sense that he disapproves of his brother dealing drugs.

As the story unfolds, however, it becomes clear that Shelley may not always be telling the truth. Whenever and wherever he shows up, there are fires to put out—metaphorically and otherwise. He's biased, unreliable and he depicts himself in a positive light at the expense of others.

JP Gritton is masterful at developing a well-rounded cast of characters. Since the book is narrated in the first person, this is done almost entirely through cutting dialogue and visceral scenes. Family members and acquaintances are three dimensional, and the disdain they feel for one another is palpable. For example, Shelley has a falling out with his best friend and brother-in-law, Mike:

"You're a sickness, Shelley," he said then. "You're a kind of disease. You make my fucking skin crawl."
"You're drunk," I told him. "You're just drunk."
"Sure, I'm a little drunk. But I'm not as drunk as you might like to think I am. I'm sick of you, that's all. I'm sick to death of you and sick to death of pretending I ain't."

The pacing of Wyoming complements its non-traditional form. There is not much action, but the character and situational dramas are so deep and vivid that it never bores. Upcoming plot twists are deftly foreshadowed, creating mini-cliff hangers that make the plot increasingly captivating. Fire is the principal theme; the book begins with a forest fire, and proceeds to run through a series of fiery relationships and smoldering guilt. It ends with the reader trying to find salvation through the smoke and ashes. Is Shelley a guileless dupe? His own worst enemy? An anti-hero?

The author succeeds at making the reader care enough to find out. Unlike a forest fire's immediate and comprehensive destruction, the interpersonal relationships in the novel are destroyed via slow burn.

No one escapes Wyoming unscathed.

Reviewed by Ian Muehlenhaus

This review first ran in the November 13, 2019 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  An Interview with JP Gritton

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Wyoming, try these:

  • Abundance jacket

    Abundance

    by Jakob Guanzon

    Published 2021

    About this book

    A wrenching debut about the causes and effects of poverty, as seen by a father and son living in a pickup.

  • Sugar Run jacket

    Sugar Run

    by Mesha Maren

    Published 2019

    About this book

    Set within the charged insularity of rural West Virginia, Sugar Run is a searing and gritty debut about making a run for another life.

We have 5 read-alikes for Wyoming, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother's fight to keep her daughter, and the winds of fortune that tear them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.