We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Saenz

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life

by Benjamin Saenz

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Saenz X
The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Saenz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2017, 464 pages

    Paperback:
    Nov 2017, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Michelle Anya Anjirbag
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A gentle, loving look at the universal question of belonging.

Once we leave our teenage years it can be hard to remember how intensely we were able to feel things, while simultaneously learning that it was even possible to feel so much. Benjamin Alire Saenz does just that in his young adult novel, The Inexplicable Logic of My Life. The story follows Salvador "Sal" Silva and his two best friends as they navigate their senior year of high school, each coping with their own tragedies - but together - while also facing the transition into their adult lives.

While the themes of adolescent transition and loss have been handled many times by many authors, few manage to evoke not only the emotions of adolescence, but the myriad pluralities of identities that embody modern America. Sal was adopted into a Mexican-American family by a gay single father, and the external and internal conflicts that evolve as Sal comes of age drive the plot. Along with his struggle to reconcile who he is as the result of who raised him, with his growing awareness and need to know about his biological parents, Sal is also dealing with the death of his beloved grandmother, the woman who was, in many ways, a mother to him. The emotional turmoil Sal faces is compounded by equally difficult circumstances in the lives of his two best friends, Sam and Fito. As each of the three deals with the loss of a parent in some fashion, Saenz asks the reader to consider not only what it means to become ourselves or understand where we come from, but what it means to belong to and build a family.

Saenz's presentation is powerful not because of the questions it asks, but because of what the reader is forced to feel. Those who are sharing the same stage of life as Sal, Sam, and Fito, and grappling with the same issues of identity, transition, and finding one's place in the world, will find their lives, concerns, problems, hopes, fears, and concerns reflected in a recognizable world, but one that is well crafted and gives them the space necessary to both feel and reflect. Adult readers will be reminded of the powerful struggle of the search for identity, as well as the extent of the problems teenagers face; beyond peer pressure and bullying, Saenz reminds adults that food insecurity, relationship abuse, homophobia, absentee parents, and grief and loss are very real problems that have life-long implications, especially if those who are experiencing these things become isolated. The story crosses boundaries between age groups, cultures, and identities, and by delving into anger, joy, pain, and hope, it reminds us that in a world that works so hard to divide us, we are all ultimately bound through love.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in March 2017, and has been updated for the November 2017 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Inexplicable Logic of My Life, try these:

We have 13 read-alikes for The Inexplicable Logic of My Life, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.