Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Another Word for Love by Carvell Wallace

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Another Word for Love by Carvell Wallace

Another Word for Love

A Memoir

by Carvell Wallace
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • May 14, 2024
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Carvell Wallace's debut memoir-in-essays reflects on a traumatic upbringing that taught him to reject stereotypical masculinity and celebrate the beauty in the everyday.

"I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every single one of my ancestors." This might serve as Carvell Wallace's mission statement. His memoir candidly acknowledges wrongs that have been done—to him personally and to Black people collectively. But he also relates what he has learned about sexuality and spirituality, both of which provoke openness to love and wonder.

Wallace's debut is a nontraditional memoir in 36 mini-essays, grouped under several headings. "Stories About Loss" recreate scenes from his difficult youth. He and his single mother sometimes stayed with his aunt and uncle in the Pittsburgh area; they also spent a year unhoused, and later moved to California. During these years, he had two unforgettable encounters with the LAPD: once, his mother was arrested over a bad check she wrote for a...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Another Word for Love, try these:

  • This Boy We Made jacket

    This Boy We Made

    by Taylor Harris

    Published 2023

    About This book

    A Black mother bumps up against the limits of everything she thought she believed - about science and medicine, about motherhood, and about her faith - in search of the truth about her son.

  • How the Word Is Passed jacket

    How the Word Is Passed

    by Clint Smith

    Published 2022

    About This book

    The Atlantic staff writer and poet Clint Smith's revealing, contemporary portrait of America as a slave owning nation.

We have 4 read-alikes for Another Word for Love, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.