BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews The Great Abolitionist by Stephen Puleo

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Great Abolitionist by Stephen Puleo

The Great Abolitionist

Charles Sumner and the Fight for a More Perfect Union

by Stephen Puleo
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • Apr 23, 2024
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Charles Sumner of Massachusetts, an anti-slavery crusader in the 1850s, was determined to abolish the practice of human bondage for profit.

A decade before Confederate troops fired upon Fort Sumter in Charleston Harbor, initiating the Civil War, Charles Sumner entered the United States Senate. A political career had never been an ambition for the Massachusetts lawyer; Sumner was simply consumed with the eradication of slavery. In his biography The Great Abolitionist: Charles Sumner and the Fight for a More Perfect Union, historian Stephen Puleo explains the adoration Sumner had for the Constitution. The word "slavery" never appeared once in the document.

However, Sumner's view was the minority opinion. Popular Massachusetts senator Daniel Webster, who eventually became Secretary of State, leaving his seat up for grabs — Sumner won it by two votes — didn't agree with Sumner about slavery. Webster once said the North was wrong and the South was right.

Webster supported the Compromise of 1850 and Sumner ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Great Abolitionist, try these:

  • We Refuse jacket

    We Refuse

    by Kellie Carter Jackson

    Published 2024

    About This book

    A radical reframing of the past and present of Black resistance—both nonviolent and violent—to white supremacy.

  • The Grimkes jacket

    The Grimkes

    by Kerri K. Greenidge

    Published 2024

    About This book

    A stunning counternarrative of the legendary abolitionist Grimke sisters that finally reclaims the forgotten Black members of their family.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Great Abolitionist, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

He has only half learned the art of reading who has not added to it the more refined art of skipping and skimming

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.