Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Somehow by Anne Lamott

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Somehow

Thoughts on Love

by Anne Lamott

Somehow by Anne Lamott X
Somehow by Anne Lamott
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Apr 2024, 208 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Christine Runyon
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Anne Lamott presents essays on love: its ability to change us, uplift us, and keep us safe.

Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay collection Somehow, you'd be forgiven for feeling wistful and misty-eyed just reading some of her descriptions. They act as a form of time travel, showing us scenes from Lamott's life that have proven to her the essential nature of love as a feeling, and how it affects each of us in both minute and enormous ways.

In twelve essays, Lamott exhibits her famed intellect and bright humor, inviting us on a journey past the many faces of love. One gets the feeling while reading her interior monologue that she has a dark streak and no interest in concealing it. She frequently returns to self-loathing and fear, eventually talking herself out of it, always with the assistance of love: the only true balm for pain. It's apparent she grew to this maturity past the tender seedlings of a young naivety...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Greek Words for Love

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Somehow, try these:

  • In Love jacket

    In Love

    by Amy Bloom

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    Winner of the 2022 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    This powerful memoir by New York Times bestselling author Amy Bloom is an illuminating story of two people whose love and shared life experiences led them to find a courageous way to part - and of a woman's struggle to go forward in the face of loss.

  • Crossing the River jacket

    Crossing the River

    by Carol Smith

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A powerful exploration of grief following the death of the author's son that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

We have 5 read-alikes for Somehow, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Anne Lamott
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.