Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Witches of Bellinas by J. Nicole Jones

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Witches of Bellinas

A Novel

by J. Nicole Jones

The Witches of Bellinas by J. Nicole Jones X
The Witches of Bellinas by J. Nicole Jones
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    May 2024, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jillian Bell
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In an idyllic coastal community, beautiful wives fawn over their husbands…but the women might be the ones holding the real power.

To Tansy and her new husband Guy, both longtime New Yorkers, moving to the coastal California community of Bellinas feels like a dream come true. They're drawn to the small town for more than just its year-round perfect weather. In Bellinas, the pace of life is slower. The aesthetics are flawless. Beautiful women in flowing dresses weave, make pottery and nurse infants while the men surf and dive for abalone. To Tansy, who has always longed for a child, it feels like the perfect place to start a family.

This carefree lifestyle is sustained in part by the town's wealthy benefactor, a former tech CEO who now goes by Father M. Years ago, he bought up nearly all of the town, renting some homes to his equally glamorous friends, leaving others empty and acting as a patron to the few original residents remaining. He and his wife, Guy's cousin Mia, are the founders of the Bohemian Club, a...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Wind Knots

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Witches of Bellinas, try these:

  • Mood Swings jacket

    Mood Swings

    by Frankie Barnet

    Published 2024

    About this book

    In a pre-apocalyptic world not unlike our own, a young Instagram poet starts an affair with a California billionaire who's promised a time machine that will make everything normal again—whatever that means.

  • Bad Cree jacket

    Bad Cree

    by Jessica Johns

    Published 2023

    About this book

    In this gripping, horror-laced debut, a young Cree woman's dreams lead her on a perilous journey of self-discovery that ultimately forces her to confront the toll of a legacy of violence on her family, her community and the land they call home.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Witches of Bellinas, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.