Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Glorious Exploits by Ferdia Lennon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Glorious Exploits

A Novel

by Ferdia Lennon

Glorious Exploits by Ferdia Lennon X
Glorious Exploits by Ferdia Lennon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Mar 2024, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Alicia Calvo Hernández
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In theatre, kings and nobles are the usual protagonists of tragedies, while comedy is reserved for the ordinary. Such are Lampo and Gelon, the protagonists of Glorious Exploits, a comedy that deals with the tragedy of war.

Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their usual tavern in Syracuse and the quarries where Athenian soldiers defeated in the Peloponnesian War have been left to die. Lampo, the narrator of the story, is roguish and irreverent, while Gelon is the sensitive and restrained counterpoint. Together they form a traditional comic duo, with their most common exchange involving a resounding "Quiet, Lampo."

Repetition is just one of the many comic tools Ferdia Lennon, who studied History and Classics at University College Dublin, employs in his literary debut. The most remarkable device, however, is the language in which the characters operate. Gelon and Lampo express themselves in modern Irish vernacular, a stylistic choice that not only contemporizes the narrative but also seeks to capture a sense of how marginalized individuals from ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Glorious Exploits, try these:

  • Call Me Cassandra jacket

    Call Me Cassandra

    by Marcial Gala

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    From Marcial Gala, the author of the award-winning The Black Cathedral, Call Me Cassandra is a darkly magical tale of a haunted young dreamer, born in the wrong body and time, who believes himself to be a doomed prophetess from ancient Greek mythology.

  • The Women of Troy jacket

    The Women of Troy

    by Pat Barker

    Published 2022

    About this book

    More by this author

    A daring and timely feminist retelling of The Illiad from the perspective of the women of Troy who endured it--an extraordinary follow up to The Silence of the Girls from the Booker Prize-winning author of The Regeneration Trilogy.

We have 4 read-alikes for Glorious Exploits, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.